Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
The bagels tasted fine but there is another homemade bagel recipe that is so much easier and quicker to prepare. I prefer the ingredients in this recipe as it doesn't require milk or butter but the preparation in the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I've tried this recipe twice and both times I had very flat bagels. The first time I mixed the yeast in the sugar water before adding it to the dry. The bagels were flat by the time they hit the water. The second I followed the recipe exactly and the bagels flattened after they came out of the water. They tasted okay, just super flat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These are simple and delicious! I had left over whey from making cream cheese, so I subbed it in for water in this recipe. I also proofed my yeast by mixing it with a tablespoon of sugar and the whey for 5 minutes before I added everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I don't have anything to compare it to but being my first time making bagels, they came out awesome! The only thing I have to say is I used nearly 1 and a half cups less flour than the recipe called for and I also had substituted 1 cup of whole-wheat flour for my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was my first time making bagels and they were delicious. Let them rise about 30-40 min. They only took 15 min. in my oven. I would advise reading the article on "Forming and Baking Bagels" first. My water stopped boiling when I put bagels in and the article will give a better perspective if you have never made bagels before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good...although a little bland. I replaced half of the flour with white whole wheat....I made 12 bagels - 6 plain & 6 that I kneaded in cinnamon & raisins. Broiled and boiled in Molasses. Then topped cinnamon raisin ones with a cinnamon crunch topping (1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon, & 1 Tbsp melted butter). To try: use honey instead of sugar & add extra honey. Try topping some with asiago cheese for bagel sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
YUM! very tasty and easy to follow. after reading reviews about the size, i decided to cut back on the amount of bagels to 8, but they were a little big for us, so next time i will try the 12 if not 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy de Jesus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Great recipe! I worked at a bagel shop while in college and we did the traditional boiled bagel and this come pretty close. Some notes: Proofing the bagels - After I shaped the bagels (forming the dough into a small ball and poking a hole in the middle is genius!), I put them on a cookie sheet, let them rise a bit (about 15mins or so) and placed them in the refrigerator for about 45mins. This allows them to proof the rest of the way and helps them retain their shape once you put the bagel into the boiling water. Boiling the bagels - Depending on how you like the texture will determine how long you let the bagel boil. For mine, I only let the bagel boil for about 30-45 seconds which will give it a thin crispy crust and a softer texture inside. I've never heard of letting a bagel boil in water for 7mins., from my experience (baking bagels at 3am - sometimes hungover and having this happen), boiling bagels too long causes them to become water-logged and hard to handle (but if you had success, then I've learned something new!). Also, it's important to keep the water at a very high boil. I dropped one bagel in at a time so the temp wouldn't drop. Seriously, not sure if I'm going to pay $10+ for a dozen bagels around here anymore especially since this recipe was so good! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe. I've been making these once a week for months now. -Broil your bagels before you boil them for a few minutes, or until puffed and slightly golden brown. This ensures they won't deflate and also makes baking quicker. -I make 8 instead of 12. Larger bagels won't deflate/flatten as easily as small ones. -Brush egg white on the top after you're done boiling them, then sprinkle on poppy seeds. Poppy seed/raisin bagels are especially good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Very good bagels, not bakery quality but very tasty for homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States