Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is a great basic recipe, but there is a problem with one of the ingredients and some of the technique. The "1 T" of salt in the recipe should either be reduced to 1 t or added only to the boiling solution with the sugar. Boiling 7 minutes makes the end product soggy. Only boil 1-1.5 minutes/side. A lot of reviewers have said this is "bland": it *is* a basic recipe. Jazz it up with your own flavors. I also added 2 T oil to my dough for better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Made these yesterday with a friend and they turned out awesome. Gave half to another friend and she was raving about them. They are not very hard to make. either. The only things we did differently were to put 1tbsp salt and 2tbsp honey in the water they were boiled in instead of sugar and we brushed the tops with egg whites before putting them in the oven to give them some shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Anyone who gives this less than 5 is crazy. SO easy and SO good! The beauty of the boiled bagel is the density and chewiness, so they are naturally not going to be as puffy and large as other regular baked bagels, it's not a recipe "issue", not that I was irritated by reviewers who gave a "solid four" because of the size and lack of rising... No names mentioned....grumble. This is da bomb recipe... Fool proof bagel perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
From my experience, the pan should be greased and floured, otherwise the bagels will stick and become deformed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
For my first time making bagels, this was a great recipe to start with. Very simple to follow. I modified the recipe slightly by adding sun dried tomatoes to the dough. Very tasty and I will be using this recipe again! :) Delicious! Especially with home made sun dried tomato butter.... mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monacarm
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This recipe tastes amazing! A problem was getting them off of the baking sheet, but I can probably fix that. Another problem was that after boiling, they seemed to deflate and lost all of the poof. Maybe I'll try adding baking powder/baking soda next time. I also only needed 2 1/2 cups flour. All in all, a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I used the recipe for cooking time. The dough was leftover from a batch of whole wheat baked donuts. I just added more flour. BUT... Thanks so much for telling me to boil these for 7 minutes. They became huge and look really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Stauffer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
The bagels tasted fine but there is another homemade bagel recipe that is so much easier and quicker to prepare. I prefer the ingredients in this recipe as it doesn't require milk or butter but the preparation in the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I've tried this recipe twice and both times I had very flat bagels. The first time I mixed the yeast in the sugar water before adding it to the dry. The bagels were flat by the time they hit the water. The second I followed the recipe exactly and the bagels flattened after they came out of the water. They tasted okay, just super flat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These are simple and delicious! I had left over whey from making cream cheese, so I subbed it in for water in this recipe. I also proofed my yeast by mixing it with a tablespoon of sugar and the whey for 5 minutes before I added everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States