Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I absolutelty loved the result! The bagels came out beautiful on the outside as well as the inside. It was my first time making bagels and I will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Blemur

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
First time making bagels ever BUT with the new year brought us a resolution to reduce our processed food intake but we LOVE bagels. Well! Thank goodness I have a Kitchen Aid because this was some tough dough. I followed the recipe. The first 6 I made were ugly but hole crow they were delicious! Crispy on the outside. Chewey in the middle. Yum. Thr second half of the dough I made smaller and incorporated cinnamon and sugar. Those are still in the oven. I am trying to think of all the ways that I can make bagels. I can't wait to try them on a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Thank you!!!!! We're expecting our second baby, and the biggest craving so far came along last night. Our favorite bakery didn't open in time for us to get there, so I made these. I made them into "everything" bagels by adding the toppings before baking. Amazing! They were so good... And so easy... I may never spend $11 for a dozen bagels again! This weekend, I will probably make some cinnamon raisin bagels using this recipe, too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I've made this recipe multiple times, and every time they turn out awesome! This is my official bagel go to. Tastes like they are straight outta NYC! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mediocre.housewife
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I MADE BAGELS!! I can't believe it, and they were perfect the first time. I think next time I will try and add some of the toppings inside the dough. They are perfect plain, just as they are but become even better when you add toppings. Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mediocre.housewife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I really loved these bagels. This is my first attempt. They are completely vegan too! I used Coconut Sugar instead of white sugar for all of it. I also added sunflower seeds, garlic powder, dried (minced) onion, basil, and cumin. Oh, and I substituted 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat four. They are amazing!!! I didn't use any electric stuff either, I hand kneaded them, and they turned out great; just check out the photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is a great basic recipe, but there is a problem with one of the ingredients and some of the technique. The "1 T" of salt in the recipe should either be reduced to 1 t or added only to the boiling solution with the sugar. Boiling 7 minutes makes the end product soggy. Only boil 1-1.5 minutes/side. A lot of reviewers have said this is "bland": it *is* a basic recipe. Jazz it up with your own flavors. I also added 2 T oil to my dough for better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Made these yesterday with a friend and they turned out awesome. Gave half to another friend and she was raving about them. They are not very hard to make. either. The only things we did differently were to put 1tbsp salt and 2tbsp honey in the water they were boiled in instead of sugar and we brushed the tops with egg whites before putting them in the oven to give them some shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Anyone who gives this less than 5 is crazy. SO easy and SO good! The beauty of the boiled bagel is the density and chewiness, so they are naturally not going to be as puffy and large as other regular baked bagels, it's not a recipe "issue", not that I was irritated by reviewers who gave a "solid four" because of the size and lack of rising... No names mentioned....grumble. This is da bomb recipe... Fool proof bagel perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
From my experience, the pan should be greased and floured, otherwise the bagels will stick and become deformed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States