Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These were really good. Next time I will make 12 smaller ones than eight GIANT ones. Otherwise, the flavor and texture were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jangmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
My family loved these. There is something about making bagels for the first time on my own that provided me with a great sense of accomplishment! I found that you should bake these about 5 minutes before boiling. Keep an eye on them though as they will rise in the heat...you don't want the middle to close on you so be ready to pull them out if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
They are a little bland - but this is the perfect starter recipe to make other flavored bagels. I like how it didn't use nearly as much yeast as other recipes. We made ten and thought they were the perfect size. It was definitely hard to make the holes big enough to not close - but as we used them for breakfast sandwiches, the blandness and holes were not an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great recipe. Next up is trying all the different adaptations --garlic, onion, raisins, cinnamon, etc....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 2 stars because the inside turned out soft and mushy while the outside was hard. When I removed them from rising to put them into the boiling water, they shrunk instantly, even though they had risen for 45 minutes. They stuck to the pan, and it fell apart when I used a spatula to take them off of the pan. I would not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was my first time making bagels. This recipe was easy to follow and they turned out well. I did broil them before I boiled as suggested. I only made a half batch of plain bagels and served them with apple butter. I'm looking forward to making these again soon and playing with the flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Oh my goodness! I can't believe I am a bagel maker! They were fun to make. It was pretty easy although took some time. After boiling I dipped the tops in different toppings: cinnamon and sugar, parmesan and garlic, poppy seed, and I just buttered the tops of a couple and left them plain. I followed others advise and made 8 large bagels. They were amazing in texture and flavor. I will definitely make these again. I was so proud of the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I followed the directions but made 8 instead of 12 like reviewers suggested. After I shaped them into bagels, they rose beautifully! They looked great but after the water bath, they were all wrinkled and looked horrible. I was hoping after baking, they'd look like bagels again but they didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbrown7k
Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by RiceLover
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I never thought I was going to be able to pull this one off! :) But we did! Very good and now we don't have to go out and buy bagels anymore. Can't wait to experience with different flavors! We also had to wait about 35-40 minutes for them to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Thisbis a great recipe. Can't miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States