Boiled & Baked Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Tender, flavorful, yummy. I actually liked them better than grilling. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
These should be called "Oh My Lawd" Ribs. If anyone were to ask me, do I like ribs, the answer would be, not really, do I like spicy? The answer is no,and the same goes for my 19 year old son, but I do love spicy flavors without the heat! And this is exACTLY THAT! For those who don't know, what I mean is, I like the flavor of jalapeno, but not the heat. Now, my oldest son likes the heat of say, ceyenne, and jalapeno, and THAT is what made my decision to try this. I made this recipe with all the ingredients listed, as written, the only thing I did was 2tbs on everything for glaze, instead of 1 1/2, just to be sure I had enough. They were perfluctido!! that's a Dr. Seussism, for those of you not in the know. Anyway, long rate short, both me AND my son were pleasantly surprised. Thank you Chef John, another hit in the books. This will be a regular this summer! And those of you that aren't big fans of spice, this is not a recipe to fear. Very flavorful, and easy on the pallet. My son said, "it gets so close to the burn, but it never makes it there"! Hope you give these a try, and as always.....ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Very tasty and very easy. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Wow this was excellent. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I don't normally cook baby back ribs, but I thought I'd give this a try. My wife always boils country ribs before grilling so I looked for a recipe that took this approach. I understand this is sacrilegous to serious BBQ folks. Anyhow, I tried this recipe and substituted Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce for the chili sauce and cayenne pepper for the pepper flakes (because that is what I had). All the rest of the ingredients I had in the house. Instead of baking, I put these on the grill in a vegetable grill basket. About 7 minutes on each side. Turned out excellent. The Chinese 5 spice plus the chili paste gave the ribs a distinct flavor and kick. Loved it as a dinner. I liked the idea that the back ribs were already cut when served. Makes for easy eating. I'd use this as an entrée any day. Would be an awesome appetizer as well. Very creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas Heineman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I used different seasonings, but the technique for cooking the ribs worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
These were so good - we didn't have honey, so we used corn syrup. We also didn't have chili paste, so we used Surachi. So tender on the inside, a bit crisp on the outside, and the flavor was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I'm from the south where we know BBQ and where it's a sacrilege to boil ribs. The chef did make a nice disclaimer that this is not intended to replace or compete with traditional BBQ so I'll let it slide. I would never personally use this recipe but I did refer it to my sister who cannot BBQ to save her life and it was a great improvement to all of her previous attempts to BBQ ribs. They were very good and if you are a slow and low purest just think of them as something other than BBQ ribs. Open your mind and shut your mouth and enjoy them for what they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I have never made ribs before but a huge sale at the local grocery prompted me to try. This recipe worked so well that my husband complemented it without me asking "Is everything OK?" I followed the recipe exactly and my family cleaned the ribs to the bone. Thanks for another "go to" in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
These are fall off the bone tender and delicious. You can eat them straight from the broth you boil them in. The "glaze" (not sauce) is really different for ribs and yummy. Rather than baking I put mine on the BBQ grill 5 mins to a side and got that blackened edges and smoke flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States