Boiled & Baked Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Keep em coming Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
These ribs were amazing. I made some (un)intentional variations on the fly. I forgot about simmering the broth for 20 minutes before adding the ribs, so as soon as it started boiling I added them. Also, I added only a small amount of salt to the broth. I used the last of my rice vinegar in the broth so i subbed Italian wine vinegar in the glaze. The rest of the ingredients were basically eyeballed, but I almost doubled the glaze to be sure I'd have enough which I'm happy I did. After glazing 3 times in 15/15/5 minute intervals the ribs turned out incredible. Just the right amount of tenderness without falling off the bone. Will make again, thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
The best ribs I've ever cooked. I finished mine on the gas grill with smoking hickory chips and they were a hit! Treat youself and try this. Everything by Chef John is just beyond belief good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Love this! I've made this a few times and once or twice had to adapt the ingredient list and yet, the ribs end up tasting great. I think the method, boil then bake works very well. This is my new go-to method first, recipe second, for ribs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
We were very impressed with the flavor and tenderness of this dish. I did make a couple of changes, as some ingredients are not available here in the heartland of Mexico. I used Thai garlic chili sauce for the hot sauce and white wine vinegar instead of rice wine. Also accidentally forgot the honey, but it was a perfect mix of sweet and acid for our taste. I will definitely make again and will use the glaze for other meats as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
excellent ribs..possibly the best I've ever made. The only changes I made was that I didn't add in the pepper flakes in the brine and the chili paste for the glaze since I was afraid it might have been too spicy for my little ones to eat. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Everyone at meal said this is excellent. Very tasty and should always cook ribs this way. By the way I cut down on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I've boiled mine before, however never in seasonings. The method used was really good. Thank you, this is what I will always do when doing ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
My wife and I enjoyed these ribs very much. The flavors were nicely mixed, sweet and sour and the Chinese five-spice powder gave it a new and pleasant taste which I had not tried before. Plus, I am not fond of messy, smoky grills. This was perfect for me! Yummy vituals. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I wasn't sure how to make Pork Rib Tips that were already pre sliced in the packaging quickly without drying them out. The boiling really sealed in a soft, seasoned texture. The glaze was delicious, my husband raved about it! I lessoned the sugar by the half teaspoon, and didn't have rice vinegar or the 5 spice, or the chili paste! However, I substituted the vinegar with red cooking wine and chili paste with ketchup and chili pepper. I also used some creol spice instead of the chinese spice ( only used about a half of tspn since it has salt in it). I did have to make a little extra sauce (I had bigger rib pieces then what the recipe calls for) to completely cover all my ribs. When I went to glaze again halfway through baking in the oven , I just mixed more in a bowl with the same ingredients for the glaze. Maybe next time I make it I will have all the right ingredients but it still tasted so yummy! Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah245

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States