Boiled & Baked Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
We were very impressed with the flavor and tenderness of this dish. I did make a couple of changes, as some ingredients are not available here in the heartland of Mexico. I used Thai garlic chili sauce for the hot sauce and white wine vinegar instead of rice wine. Also accidentally forgot the honey, but it was a perfect mix of sweet and acid for our taste. I will definitely make again and will use the glaze for other meats as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
excellent ribs..possibly the best I've ever made. The only changes I made was that I didn't add in the pepper flakes in the brine and the chili paste for the glaze since I was afraid it might have been too spicy for my little ones to eat. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Everyone at meal said this is excellent. Very tasty and should always cook ribs this way. By the way I cut down on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I have always been a boil and bake 'em rib girl. The boiling process gets rid of a good amount of fat. If you want them very tender, put the ribs in your crock pot on low for several hours instead of baking. I agree that the membranes are not an issue, scoring them is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
These were pretty good but the Tender Pork Spare Rib recipe is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I've boiled mine before, however never in seasonings. The method used was really good. Thank you, this is what I will always do when doing ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
My wife and I enjoyed these ribs very much. The flavors were nicely mixed, sweet and sour and the Chinese five-spice powder gave it a new and pleasant taste which I had not tried before. Plus, I am not fond of messy, smoky grills. This was perfect for me! Yummy vituals. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
snack table?!...you mean "Dinner" table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I wasn't sure how to make Pork Rib Tips that were already pre sliced in the packaging quickly without drying them out. The boiling really sealed in a soft, seasoned texture. The glaze was delicious, my husband raved about it! I lessoned the sugar by the half teaspoon, and didn't have rice vinegar or the 5 spice, or the chili paste! However, I substituted the vinegar with red cooking wine and chili paste with ketchup and chili pepper. I also used some creol spice instead of the chinese spice ( only used about a half of tspn since it has salt in it). I did have to make a little extra sauce (I had bigger rib pieces then what the recipe calls for) to completely cover all my ribs. When I went to glaze again halfway through baking in the oven , I just mixed more in a bowl with the same ingredients for the glaze. Maybe next time I make it I will have all the right ingredients but it still tasted so yummy! Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah245

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
worst waist of $20.00 worth of ribs i have ever seen. could not eat them,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a_tillis@stormyhillharley.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States