Boiled & Baked Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
These were so good - we didn't have honey, so we used corn syrup. We also didn't have chili paste, so we used Surachi. So tender on the inside, a bit crisp on the outside, and the flavor was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I'm from the south where we know BBQ and where it's a sacrilege to boil ribs. The chef did make a nice disclaimer that this is not intended to replace or compete with traditional BBQ so I'll let it slide. I would never personally use this recipe but I did refer it to my sister who cannot BBQ to save her life and it was a great improvement to all of her previous attempts to BBQ ribs. They were very good and if you are a slow and low purest just think of them as something other than BBQ ribs. Open your mind and shut your mouth and enjoy them for what they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I have never made ribs before but a huge sale at the local grocery prompted me to try. This recipe worked so well that my husband complemented it without me asking "Is everything OK?" I followed the recipe exactly and my family cleaned the ribs to the bone. Thanks for another "go to" in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
These are fall off the bone tender and delicious. You can eat them straight from the broth you boil them in. The "glaze" (not sauce) is really different for ribs and yummy. Rather than baking I put mine on the BBQ grill 5 mins to a side and got that blackened edges and smoke flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is simply delicious! I followed the brine recipe and the flavors in the ribs was a hit with the family. For my glace I used one that I had from before but as he said any glace will work and it certainly did. I will be making this recipe alot in the future. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Made this with 10 lbs of ribs for 10 people. Simmered the ribs in the broth for about 1 1/2 hrs., covered the ribs with a good smoky commercial sauce and baked for approx. 30 min. as per the recipe. These ribs actually were falling off the bones and were scrumptious. I also viewed the video before I followed the recipe. I found this helpful as I was not anxious about using a new recipe on unsuspecting friends. I will be using this recipe as my new favourite for ribs. Easy perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Keep em coming Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
The best ribs I've ever cooked. I finished mine on the gas grill with smoking hickory chips and they were a hit! Treat youself and try this. Everything by Chef John is just beyond belief good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
These are really very good. Not tender falling off of the bone, but a very good rib. Have made several times and everyone appreciates them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Adding spice to water great idea however, this is way too sweet for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States