Bodega Bay Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Made for the first time tonight. Served to guests and they loved it. I modified it slightly based on the ingredients I had on hand, in place of crab I used lobster - it was on sale - and littleneck clams, scrod, and shrimp. I think any combination of shellfish works nicely. The sauce was tasty. Many other recipes call for fish stock or clam juice but I didnt have either and it was just fine without. Served with bread and a dessert of fresh fruit. Was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Congers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by posh
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Can't go wrong with all this seafood - yummy! I used mussels instead of clams, omitted crab, used dry italian herbs instead of parsley ( it did have basil in them ) ,added a little tomato juice and totally skipped salt and pepper. Next time I will try to make it as written - I rarely follow recipes exactly;) Beware: there is plenty of salt from tomatoes and seafood ( if you are using frozen ones ), so you might want to add it in the end after trying ready stew first - might be no need for it. Crusty bread is a must with this one as there is plenty of yummy broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Made w all dry ingridients.Made w 4-14 ounces cans off diced tomato,1 bottle of dry wine, 1-lb king crab legs,1-lb large shelled shrimp,24 large neck clams,and 1 loaf of italian bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juan0404

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
My husband is extremely picky, but he loves seafood. When I started making the dish he said he probably should not look at what I was putting in the pot because he was skeptical. His final opinion, fantastic. I made a couple of changes to the recipe: I added 1 can of chicken broth, 1 can of baby clams w/ their juice, and added some paprika and chili powder. We used snow crab, shrimp, mussels, and the canned clams, but everything else we kept the same. To cut down on mess peel and shell all seafood before putting in the wonderful sauce. Definitely have to have the bread to sop up the juices. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
So delicious and very simple! I would suggest less salt (all it needs is a pinch) and fresh basil leaves instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was really, really yummy! I am not one for switching things up the first time that I try them, and I do not think that I would change anything next time! This was fantastic just as it is. Husband and all 3 kids ate every bite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYTAMALE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Great recipe for a simple cioppino! Made some substitutions: blended 6 fresh tomatoes rather than using canned tomatoes; added a bottle of clam juice and some chicken broth to give it more of a broth; and left out the bay leaf because I didn't have any. To the base, I added fresh mussles, littleneck clams, squid and shrimp without peel. We ate it all with some French bread - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
It was good but not nearly what I was expecting after reading all the reviews. It tasted like it was missing something. My husband liked it but he likes things more on the bland side, while I like things packed with flavor. Wasn't bad, just wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingMaMa08
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
It's very easy to make and taste great. I also added half can of chicken brooth for taste. Definitely use fresh uncooked dungeness crab if you can find them in your local market. I steamed the crab before putting it with the tomato sauce. There will be some excellent and flavorful juice from the steamed crab that you can add to the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
My husband and I love this recipe. Great with sourdough and white wine. Makes a huge mess, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States