Bodega Bay Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Wow. Delicious and healthy. The only changes I made was substituting mussels for clams -- they were on sale -- and adding some bell peppers and hot peppers in danger of being forgotten. Rounded it off with a salad of kale an chard and some home made fettucini Alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leo Walsh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachal28
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
We have never had anything like this. it was amazing. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
A very good, simplified cioppino. Without taking it overboard, I'd sub a cabernet for the white wine, making a nice loose red sauce, and add some clam juice and twice the parsley, as long as its fresh. And obviously, any combo of seafood works. I like to use mussels, large prawns and giant scallops, and I'll top the dish with a grilled swordfish filet (or other firm white fish) and green onions, sometimes with some bits of fried calamari. Over either pasta or rice, makes for a gorgeous presentation and great eats! Also perfect on its own as the fisherman's stew it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that reminded me of the restaurant in Bodega Bay where we had lunch last year. I couldn't believe how close this recipe was to what I was looking for. I substituted muscles for the littleneck clams (because I could not find them) and I added pieces of cod too. I added some red peppers, paprika and a bit of hot sauce to give it a little kick. It was delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KPinck
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made this recipe tonight for my family. I LOVE Cioppino!!! Growing up on the Mendocino Coast, I ate a lot of fresh seafood. Now that I live a little more inland this dish works well with the not so fresh seafood I get at my local market. I made a few adjustments…. First I used fresh basil instead of dried. Second I am not a huge Scallop fan, so I exchanged them for Cod fillets. And last of all I love a little kick, so I added some crushed red pepper flakes to the stock before adding my seafood. I served it with a Chardonnay, and crusty French bread. This is a great recipe to play with….Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPinck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tyler
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was my first time making a Cioppino, though I've had it many times growing up in northern California. Living in rural Maine now, I had to change the crab for fresh lobster. I substituted mussles for the clams and I also put in about 1/4 cup of fresh basil instead of dried and about a tablespoon of fresh thyme, 2 teaspoons of chili powder and a dash of paprika. The Cioppino was great, and I can guarantee that I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Ellsworth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
My boyfriend and I made this recipe over the weekend. It was AWESOME!!!! We changed a few things. We used fire roasted garlic diced tomatoes (instead of plain)..1 lb of crawfish (instead of clams)...superb! Will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very good my husband ate 60% of the pot and the sauce he sopped up with some garlic bread I made on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JJsMama
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was excellent! No need to add salt at all. Other than that, I made it exactly as the recipe calls. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
super simple to make, and spectacular results. Recommended for everyone. Even if you live in a place where you cannot get fresh seafood often, do it with frozen seafood! the result will be a little worse but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States