Bodacious Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
These are probably 4 stars as written, since several people found them to be dry, but with the addition of 2 extra tablespoons of butter and chocolate chips instead of walnuts, I think they are 5 star taste--rich fudgy and delicious! We did have to add about 8 minutes to the baking time. Will make again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
WOW WOW WOW!! I have made many different brownies from various recipes and this is THE BEST by far. My whole family went crazy over these and they did not last the night. Will be making these A LOT. No need to search for that perfect brownie recipe any longer....I've found it. I did add more butter than it called for, though, and I suggest USING PECANS!!!! We ate it still warm with ice cream and....well....they are excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I've never made brownies from scratch before so I went perfectly by the recipe minus the nuts and it turned out GREAT! A little cakier than I prefer but moist and BODACIOUS! And so easy, satisfied my craving for baking and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
These turned out great for me! Hubby loves them; so do I. They satisfied my craving for chocolate - I didn't have any chocolate baking squares on hand, only cocoa powder -so this recipe was PERFECT! And sooo easy to make - I followed the advice of others and added 2 extra T butter as well as substituting choc. chips for walnuts. Added 8 minutes to the bake time - perfect, moist, light, delicious brownies. I am saving this recipe to use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I made these with my kids -- easy and delicious! We substituted mint chips for the walnuts. This recipe is a definite "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Bromley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Good. I did put in about 1/4c milk chocolate chips in place of the nuts. Also a little extra butter. I usually always like home-made over box but I still think boxed fudge like brownies are better. I don't think I like unsweetened cocoa all that much. *After my husband ate them he said give them a 5 I love them*!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
Yuck! I doubled this recipe, and it turned out dry and really bland. My siblings, the cookie-and-brownie lovers, don't even ask for any. I'm going to look for another recipe because this one wasn't any good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Wonderful! I made brownies once before and they were awful. These were light and delicious! I loved them. Many Thanks from a very happy English cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Warwickshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I LOVE brownies and these are delicious. I'm not a very good baker, but these are so easy to make. But it came out a little crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Needed a quick desert for a last minute family get-together - these were quick and I had all the ingredients on hand (used chocolate chips instead of nuts). I also added 2Tbs extra butter as recommended by other reviewers. Everyone found these to be more cake-like rather than fudge-like. The flavor was good but I prefer a more fudgy brownie. I will keep looking for a fudgy brownie recipie - gave 4 stars as they were good, just not my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States