Bodacious Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I have made this twice now. Both times I used broccoli and cauliflower combined. For the dressing, the first time I made it with the mayonnaise and the second time I replaced the mayo with plain low fat yogurt. Much healthier and just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Casey, Illinois, USA
Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I halved this and used two avg broccoli crowns. Too much mayo flavor is not to our liking so I mixed half fat free greek yogurt and half mayo just for preference. I also reduced the sugar to about a third and probably could have left it out. t would be too sweet for us. I eyeballed the bacon and cheese but I'm sure I used less than half of each and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This is an absolutely delicious salad. I have made it at least a half dozen times. I have to double it as my son wants it for lunch the next day. I cannot put onions in it as I can not tolerate them raw so I put granulated onions in it. When I have grape tomatoes on hand, I add some for color.........but it is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Love, love, love this recipe. It's great for all occasions. I make it when I'm tired of traditional salad. Made as directed, you can't go wrong! I find I look for excuses to make this salad so I can eat the leftovers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I was scared to use lemon juice so I stayed clear from that, we doubled the recipe except for the pepper and wow. Shouldn't have used any pepper at all, and shouldn't have doubled the vinegar. We had to add more mayo after, the pepper was too strong. I'm only giving it 3 stars because I like broccoli salad, maybe not this recipe 100% but it's good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
my first review of the salad was bad. However I had to come back and leave another one. I made my old recipe and found myself missing the tang of this salad. This time I didn't add as much pepper only 1 teaspoon and it's much better. Also not as much lemon juice in the salad is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meg Ekblad
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I made this to go with BBQ ribs and wanted to give it a bit of a southwestern flare, so I added a cup of corn and some cilantro. Since I'm not a big fan of raw onion I sauteed them briefly in a little bit of the bacon fat. The nippy cheddar cheese I used was white. It's not a low cal salad for sure, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Ekblad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Great recipe! Didn't have red wine vinegar so I used raw Apple cider vinegar. I also replaced a little broccoli for cauliflower and added cashews and dried cranberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
As a pantry chef at a retirement community, I make this salad on a rotation menu. I made it at home because it is that good! Even my three year old loves it, ain't that somethin'? I decided to serve it warm, and since I didn't have any, I left out the red wine vinegar and lemon juice, and omitted the sugar. Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Too sweet and tangy. Thank goodness for the bacon which help offset it and made it kinda yummy. Edible but i guess just tweak it to your liking. This time around the only change i made was cutting the mayonnaise down a little, i don't like over saturated/ creamy food. Next time I would cut the red vinegar and sugar in half. Definitely better to cut the broccoli smaller everything will get covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States