Bob's Thai Beef Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
SToo much fish sauce. Sugar doesnt go with it. If you want sugar, use a dash or vwry little. Missing roasted rice powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I agree on the fish sauce being too much. I used 1/3 cup fish sauce and 1/3 cup lime juice and that was perfect. Very easy and tasty recipe without too many ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
It put me in the right direction as far as the ingredients and the dressing. Like the other reviewers 1 cup fish sauce is way too much. I did the 4 limes and maybe an 1/8 cup of the fish sauce just to taste. I would probably use a tenderloin the next time making this as well. Ribeyes when they are cooled tend to be tougher while a tenderloin will always just fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made this last night and I have to say I was the only one who liked it of the family. That said, it was just the way I like it, salty! I actually used a 1.75lb piece of flank steak from Whole Foods. I then used half of all the other ingredients including the fish sauce. You could use a sugar substitute for South Beach. I used a Thai garlic chili pepper sauce instead of the chilis - using a few splashes instead. I normally hate changing recipes and then reviewing them, preferring to review on the actual recipe but I can see this being a winner. I am choosing 4 rather than 5 stars as I think 1 cup fish sauce is extreme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I have to give this 5 stars based on the original recipe and some suggestions from another reviewer who's mom was from Thailand. I used a small yellow onion, 3-4 tspns or so of Fish Sauce, serrano peppers (2), and some Sarracha for my sauce. This is the only dish i will eat at Thai resturaunts and it seems that once I get hooked they change the recipe on me and it gets sweet. This dish should be sour and salty with a great mix of these crisp veggies and thinly sliced steak. All I can say is thank you for saving me $12.95, I will never purchase this dish again unless I am in Thailand. I am 4 mos pregnant and I will just say this will be eaten for the duration of my pregnancy unless I get sick of it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'm Thai. We normally use fishsauce equally to lime juice (this is the formula!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kissie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
A bit too fishy, tasted and adjusted by omitting all but a TINY bit of fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by altheak32

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This is an amazing salad. I did read the reviews and I thought that 1 cup of fish sauce would be way too much, so I only used 1 cup. I also added tomatoes and chopped cilantro. I used a couple of serrano chiles so my husband would be able to tolerate this heat wise. I'll be making this recipe again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Not bad I served it on a bed of lettuce, Remember always use THAI fish sauce its not as salty, if its not processed in Thailand its going to be on the salty side. Refined sugar will cut the salt taste too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
My fiancee and I make a meal that is similar to this one. We definitly do not add the one cup of fish sauce, we add about 4 1/2 tbsp and the same with the lime juice. We add in some green onion, cilantro, and chili flakes and cook the steak MEDUIM RARE. The dish isn't supposed to be "soupy" but there should be liquid left over. The steak should be cut along the grain and it will soak up some of the juice. We like to eat this dish with rice and then pour some of the liquid from the salad on our rice...the rice helps tone done any saltiness and just goes really well with the dish....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States