Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Halved the recipe and still had meat left over after stuffing 12-14 banana peppers! Used fresh instead of canned tomatoes and didn't have any Worcestershire sauce, also substituted swiss chard for the celery and added some of the greens. Delicious, smelled so good cooking and makes for a nice presentation too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SandyM
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
We loved this recipe, used fresh banana peppers out of my dad's garden. I am not a fan of sausage so I used lean ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Too much work! The amount of time involved, cost of meat and taste didn't match. We made exact recipie. No changes... The recipie called for 8 peppers... We filled 12 and they were huge and we still had more than half of the meat filling left over. If you do try this recipie start by cutting it in half. I thought I ours was too Sally... But that could have been our sausage? Maybe, maybe not...I didn't rate it based on the saltiness.. It was okay... We really loved the sauce and might duplicate it for pizza ect..I won't make this again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
These were delicious! Our oven ended up breaking while I was trying to make this so I just cooked it on the stove top and they turned out great. We served with some pasta. Perfect summer recipe from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
great recipe as is....second time I changed a few things, no need to par boil peppers. i use tomato sauce in stead of crushed tomatoes, I also used all hot sausage. to much filling so I just pick more peppers and fill them & I make meat balls with the left over hot sausage stuffing ad them in with the peppers, they are great for spaghetti. Mozzarella cheese at the end...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I tried this with home-grown banana peppers. The filling recipe makes a LOT of meat. Consider cutting it in half if you're just making for two. I did 12 peppers. My husband and I ate six, we kept two for a lunch tomorrow, and I helf-cooked four more and froze them. I also froze the remaining filling, which should make at least another batch of 12. We absolutely LOVED it! The sauce was a perfect complement. I served it with plain penne pasta on the side, and we mixed the sauce into it. Looking forward to the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I read a lot of reviews but had already purchased 8 nice long banana peppers. I cut the recipe in half and the only change I made was to ease up on the salt and add 2 teaspoons of sugar to the sauce. That said, this is one of the best sauces I have ever tasted. I stuffed all 8 peppers and still had some meat mixture left (even with halving the entire recipe). My son doesn't like banana peppers so I rolled the remaining meat mixture in three 8" flour tortillas. I put the peppers and tortillas in a 9 x 13 baking dish, sprinkled a little mozzarella over it, and then poured the rest of the sauce over it all. I wished I had a little more sauce but next time I will know. This is a really good recipe that you can tweak to your liking. You could stuff anything with this meat and sauce or serve with pasta or rice. Minus stuffing the banana peppers, there is nothing difficult about this recipe. I hope you won't be afraid to try it. The taste is just awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Made peppers as Mexican dish, replaced tomato with enchilada sauce, topped with taco flavored shredded cheese. Was amazing!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe was really very yummy! I bought too many peppers on a special at my grocer, and this was a great way to use some of them up! I made as written. I did follow suggestions by other reviewers and only made half of the stuffing mixture. I used homemade marinara instead of the tomato sauce, and didn't add parmesan simply due to preference. Great recipe, and these reheat very well! Hubby had some of the leftovers for breakfast this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Fantastic! Would half the sausage filling, but otherwise FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States