Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I made this recipe with some slight alterations to save time and it is GREAT!!! #1, for the filling I only buy 1# of hot sausage and cut it in half while still in the package and I freeze the other half in a ziplock bag for next time. Next I add 1 egg, 1/2 cup spaghetti sauce, 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, and a cup of breadcrumbs. This much stuffing will fill about a dozen medium sized peppers. The recipe's filling is for WAY more than 8 peppers, so it's better to cut it in half. I still clean and boil the pebbers for 5 minutes and once they're stuffed, I put them in a casserole dish and cover them with purchased spaghetti sauce and bake. When done I cover with shredded mozzarella cheese. It's WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
I'm pleased to report I've tried this recipe and made with only a few changes. Since I had a lot of garden tomatoes, those were used rather than the canned. I added approx. 2 tbs. sugar to the tomatoes. Also, after baking approx. 40 minutues I covered with shredded mozarella then continued baking. Before I bake this next time, I'll try cooking the sausage first and delete the grease that accumulates in the dish after baking. This, of course, will require less baking time. I'll also add some Italian Seasoning to the tomato sauce mixture. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
The flavor was delicious and this is a terrific way to use up the peppers from the garden. Note that this recipe calls for entirely too much filling for 8 banana peppers. I halfed the filling recipe and still had about a cup left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Last year, I planted what I thought were green bell peppers (they were mis-labeled). When these banana peppers grew (and I had lots!!!), I had to start searching for recipes. Decided to try this one. I made this recipe last year and just finished up the leftovers that were in the freezer. Very delicious!!! Anyway, this year I planted banana peppers on purpose so that I can make this dish again. I found that I had too much sausage mixture and used it to make meatballs, so this time I'll half the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom of  Two
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is a great recipe, but it does make a lot of peppers. I made 28 from the recipe! I was making these for a trial run before I made them for a family get together and ended up only having to make 1 batch. Because of the huge amount of peppers I had to make extra of the sauce mixture. Watch the salt in the sauce 1 1/2 teaspoons does make it taste salty. I actually ended up using my own sauce to top the peppers with because of how salty it tasted to me, but otherwise they were a hit. I also topped with some grated romano cheese and shredded mozzarella the last 10 mins of baking. I will definitely be making these again. Also since the recipe made so many peppers I had to freeze some before I could use them for my party. They froze well. I was actually thinking of buying more peppers now, while they are on sale, and making another batch and freezing them for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
My family loved this recipe. This was my first time using peppers and I won't soon forget it (did not wear gloves because my neighbor told me they weren't hot)!! Make sure to wear GLOVES removing the seeds!! I halved the recipe and used 6 larger sized peppers. I par boiled for 3 minutes before filling. There is wayyy too much filling as many reviewers have stated. For presentation, I did not cut the tops off, but cut lengthwise and removed a small amount of pepper and seeds. My kids were eating these so I used a country sausage and ground chuck mixture. I subbed onion powder in place of the onion. I will make again since we have a ton of peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Super delicious. I altered the recipe and used regular pork sausage and ground beef to tame it a bit for my family. I also filled to bell peppers that I needed to use up with the left-over filling. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Very good. I used Hot Hungarian Wax Peppers (sometimes called Hot Banana Peppers) instead. Also, to cut down on fat, I used turkey sausage. I cut the recipe for the filling in half and just used 1# of sausage. With the hot peppers, I found you did not need the hot sausage as well. I didn't have regular bread crumbs on hand so I used a mix of cut up wheat bread and Italian stuffing mix. I also added slices of Monterey Jack cheese over the peppers during the last 10 mins of cooking. Next time I will add a little more tomato sauce during the last 20 mins or so to make it a bit more moist. If in a time crunch, you can always use ready made spagetti sauce instead of making it yourself. Even with cutting the filling recipe in half, I still had some left over. If you use a cake decorating bag to stuff the peppers, use a rounded tip of some sort - this helps you get the filling all the way down into the bottom of the peppers if you have small to medium sized peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Thanks to all who have rated this recipe. We do use the HOT variety of peppers for this recipe and yes they are too hot for me but my hubby and neighbors love them hot. We buy the HOT hungarian wax peppers at the farmers market for these (by the case load I might add) As some of you already know, when you submit a recipe, allrecipes.com tests it and alters it to the way they find it will best perform. So if there is a lot of extra filling for the peppers, that is why. Again thanks to all that have tried and taken the time to review the recipe. Buono Mangia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I should first start by saying it is extremely disappointing to choose a highly rated recipe from this site and run into an issue while cooking only to go back and find most reviewers found the very same problem with the recipe and.... went ahead rated it well anyway. I don't always have time to read all the reviews. I am giving this one star because I found, like most, that you only need half the filling that this recipe calls for. And you do not need to go through the tough work of parboiling the peppers. Just stuff them raw. Too many bread crumbs in the filling. Otherwise, sauce is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States