Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I should first start by saying it is extremely disappointing to choose a highly rated recipe from this site and run into an issue while cooking only to go back and find most reviewers found the very same problem with the recipe and.... went ahead rated it well anyway. I don't always have time to read all the reviews. I am giving this one star because I found, like most, that you only need half the filling that this recipe calls for. And you do not need to go through the tough work of parboiling the peppers. Just stuff them raw. Too many bread crumbs in the filling. Otherwise, sauce is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was delicious! My husband raved about it so much, I had to make it again for his friends too! There was plenty of stuffing for 2 or 3 times the amout of peppers called for. So I made more of the sauce and made another batch of peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Very tasty. I only used 1/2 t salt (for the sauce) and 1/2 c bread crumbs and 2/3 c of the sauce for the sausage. Definitely will make this again - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very good and flavorful. I followed previous advice and halved the amount of meat mixture, but kept the sauce the same. I had extra meat, so I crumbled it and spread it throughout the pan. Also, no need to add salt. Very good, but a lot of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
substituted 1 lb. ground beef for the sweet sausage. This sauce is fabulous!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Delicious. I even "healthed" this up and it was still great. I used 99% fat free ground turkey instead of sausage. Much less spicy, but you can leave more of the membrane in the sausage if you want it hot. The only thing I would change is add more sauce (I made it with noodles for my kids). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
While I wouldn't say we disliked these, I would say they were just average. With all the great reviews I expected more from this recipe. All my ingredients were fresh. The peppers from my garden, along with the fresh basil and home canned tomatoes. I agree with other reviewers, the amount of stuffing is way too much although I just scattered the leftovers around the peppers before pouring the sauce over them all. While I was mixing the bread crumbs with the sausage, I thougth 1 1/2 cups of bread crumbs would be way too much never the less I followed the recipe instead of my instincts. 1/2 to 3/4 cup bread crumbs would have been plenty. I also was considering cooking the sausage before baking the whole dish to avoid pooling of grease, however again I followed the recipe and found no grease pooling on top. I assumed it was due to the excess bread crumbs soaking it up. All in all, I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Yum! What a great way to use the banana peppers growing in our garden! I made the following modifications to the recipe: 1) I cut back the salt to 1 teaspoon total (half in the sauce and half with the sausage). I figured the sausage, bread crumbs, and tomato sauce already came with their own salt, and neither my husband nor I thought the recipe was any worse off for reducing the amount. 2) I bought 2 lbs of mild Italian sausage because the hot sausage at my store all had MSG. To compensate, I added a diced jalapeno pepper to the sauce (sauteed with the onions and celery), and then I added tabasco flakes, crushed red pepper, and paprika to the sausage mix. It had a nice kick to it. As other reviewers stated, you end up with way more filling than you need. I stuffed 12 banana peppers and still had at least half of the filling left over, which I froze for later use. We ate the peppers with angel hair pasta, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These are wonderful! I bought 10 cubanela peppers instead of 8 banana peppers- that was my only change. There was a perfect amount of stuffing for this larger, milder pepper- I would not change a thing! This recipe went into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States