Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These are wonderful! I bought 10 cubanela peppers instead of 8 banana peppers- that was my only change. There was a perfect amount of stuffing for this larger, milder pepper- I would not change a thing! This recipe went into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
A very very good recipe! I had trouble removing the seeds/membranes so I cut the peppers down the middle and opened them up then stuffed then put an extra slice of pepper on top. Topped with provolone after baking for an hour. I used ground beef instead of sausage which was good but next time I will use the sausage. A wonderful hearty, comforting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Cut the filling in half, use the same amount of tomatoe sauce. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this exactly as written with one exception, I had many different kinds of peppers ready in my garden so I used them all. It was delicious. My son who is a bit of a picky eater liked it. It was more like italian meatballs than stuffed peppers. I also split the peppers and stuffed them open face, worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Very good. I tryed both ways of stuffing the peppers--slicing with one slice and stuffing uncut. I liked the peppers best with one slice & baked open. Gave a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Wow, this was a LOT of work (and I'm not opposed to a fair amount of chopping either). Based on previous reviews I halved the meat mixture, and there was still more than half left! Taste was good, 4*. I was tempted to rate a 3 because I knew how much labor was involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
The sauce was GREAT, I added sugar to mine though. The meat filling was not so great, I not sure if it was the sausage we just didn't like, but I think it was bread crumbs. Neither my husband or I ate the filling we just ate around it. A total disappointment considering the time I spent on them. I'm going to stick to rice instead next time, and a different sausage, Oh and I like my peppers a little less done I would only blanch them 3 mins. instead of 5, and at the end top them off with mozzarella cheese or whatever you have in your fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissSheffield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I made these just as the recipe said and they were beautiful to look at, but were way too salty! Also, I agree with the other reviews that state that there is entirely too much meat. I stuffed 13 big banana peppers with it. I think if I do it again I will eliminate the salt altogether (the sausage already has enough salt in it) and mix the hot italian sausage with hamburger instead of all sausage. It was overwhelming to everyone in my family and my husband is a sausage lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Excellent. I found that the filling was more than necessary for the 8 large bannana peppers that I used, so I cooked the left over amount as a meat loaf with the sauce over the top and covered with grated parmesan. The next time I make these I will use mild and medium sausage rather than one HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Specialfx1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
great recipe my husband loves these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States