Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I was very skeptical at first, as I have never used banana peppers. But, I figured since we have such an abundance in the garden this year, I'd try this out. It really was AMAZING!!! I only ended up using 1 lb. of the mild sausage, and have enough leftover for a second batch. I also added shredded mozzarella during the last 5 minutes. Try this recipe - you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I loved these. I was given a bunch of banana peppers at work the one day and wanted something good to make, and i found this! It worked out great because i also buy a great quality hot Italian sausage in bulk. Instead of using both hot and mild i just used the hot and cut it down to a lb. The filling still ended up being an extra amount (as a lot of other reviewers pointed out) i just froze the extra and plan on making meatballs with it. My sauce ended up drying out a little when it baked so next time i will either try covering it or adding more sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I have made these several times and they are always amazing! I always double the sauce because I like my peppers covered. Yes it's alot of meat, but so what...stuff some red or green bells and use the extra to make meatballs. Those of you who think 1 1/2 cups bread crumbs are too much must not have read the recipe. It states to add 1 cup of the sauce to the meat mixture and it works out perfectly. This time I filled 8 hot peppers, 2 red bell peppers and a medium large zuchinni all in the same pan and the flavors blend well together. Skip the par boil. Those who complain it's too much work and rated it poorly because of that need to stick to a box of hamburger helper! This recipe rocks! Thanks for sharing Bob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Delicious! Filling is much too much for the amount of peppers given in the recipe. I added shredded cheese and let melt to serve. Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Davidson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this last night and it was really good. I used different sausage because my husband wanted me to use meat we already had in the freezer (he's a hunter), but the flavor of the sauce and the meats together were fantastic. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because there was way too much meat mixture for 8 banana peppers. I used 10 peppers fresh from our garden and they were huge, but I still had at least a quarter of the meat left over. I even split my peppers down the middle and made them boats so I could add extra meat and still had a ton left over. I ended up cooking it at the same time as the peppers in a loaf pan so we can have meatloaf tonight. :) Also, next time I will not boil the peppers first. They became a little mushy after cooking for an hour in the oven. I'm hoping that by not boiling them first they will remain a little firmer. I served with a salad and parmesan garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Delicious. Nice heat to the dish. Something you don't have everyday and can't find on any menus, so a welcome change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Outstanding! Great use for our homegrown banana peppers. I used turkey Italian sausage and cut the meat down to 20 oz...still had way too much filling. Also, would suggest low casserole to encourage some of the liquid to evaporate during baking. I like the idea of mozarella as a topper. Home Run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
OMG! this was the best dish I've ever made!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I Made this dish, last night. We used no salt added tomatoes and tomato sauce, left out the salt and added about 1/4 cup of dry red wine. My family raved about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I have made this 2 times and its great.It takes some time but the time is worth it.The left over meat I usually have after I make into meat balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly_Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hedgesville, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States