Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
We went to Hatch, NM last weekend for their Chile Festival and brought home lots of Chiles. I used this recipe with the chiles and the whole family loved it. The only thing I did different was make a cut down one side so it would be easier to clean out the seeds and veins. The kids don't like foods that are to spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mustangmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
this was a very tasty dish, however i had way more meat than i needed. i made meatballs and baked them in the oven. they are in the freezer for the next spaghetti dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
What can I say...excelllent. Thank you for posting this. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
If you don't like stuff green peppers than this is the recipe for you! I really liked the taste - banana pepper did not over power the taste. Glad I read the reviews - I only used 1/2 lb of each sausage and still had quite a bit leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
These were great. Unfortunately I had to change up the recipe a little due to what I had on hand. I used ground beef instead of sausage, tomato sauce from a jar, added chopped onions & ~ 3/4 cup cooked rice to the filling. I only used 1 lb of meat (I halved the recipe for the filling) & got 12 med - large banana peppers plus extra filling for probably 3 more or so. I slit the peppers open so I can generously stuff them. My only problem with this recipe is I wish the peppers would have kept a little crispness... which is probably just impossible after cooking in sauce for that long. I also make a bunch (the whole filling recipe makes a ton of peppers) and freeze them (without sauce). I just pull out what I need & thaw during the day before baking. Then I just use a little pre-made pizza sauce so they aren't too saucy & I don't have to do any more prep. They turn out great & are a great item to have in the freezer for a no-prep dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ipabrewer
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I read the comments and found it is true, there's just too much sauce, that is, only if you don't like lots of sauce! Fortunately, I love sauce. Anyway, this is pretty great! I wasn't sure about it at first, but the celery was actually a welcome addition that wouldn't have thought of myself. Changes I made: used a few shallots along with the garlic, only used 1 lb Italian sausage, and added 8 ounces of ricotta cheese to the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Tasty, but triple the amount of meat filling needed. Additionally I made 12 large meat balls and still have enough meat mixture left for another batch of the peppers. Add the mozzarella topping. Use whatever tomato sauce you like...I used one with zucchini and other vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newfane, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe. I had to change a couple things though. I didn't have parm, so I diced some moz and added it to the filling. I used a jar of (pretty bland) pasta sauce instead of the tomato sauce & crushed tomatoes, but I still used the onion, celery, diced pepper & spices. I also topped with sliced moz the last few minutes of baking. I served them with pasta, italian bread & a salad. My husband liked them so much, he said he was going to eat them all! I didn't let him, of course ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
never have I eaten better stuffed peppers, did have to add more sauce, needed a little more moisture for the gravy. My wife even liked them, said don't change a thing (I like to experiment).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was fantastic. I only had sweet sausage on hand, and it turned out wonderful. I cut the filling in half and still had some left over. I'll freeze it and use it when I make this again. Sauce was so delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States