Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
awesome sauce!!! have been makig this sauce for a while with less mustard and roasted garlic and honey molasses mix. my latest batch has 10 devils tongue, 5 chocolate habs, 5 cayenne, andto round it out, 5 ghost peppers. the heat stays a bit longer and the flavor is amazing. to bad it doesn't last. we use it on eveything, my daughter has been using it since she was 5! so proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Awesome start, but like others I cut back on the syrup, mustard, salt and brown sugar. Great flavour, thanks for submitting! I think next time I'll add more peppers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I like xtreem hot and a little sweet. I used 30 peppers no molasses, no brown sugar, a kids snack size of mandarin oranges cuz thats what I had, 1/4 C honey, 1/8 C mustard, and followed the rest. Very good. Its hard to find habanero extract sauces in Minnesota so this wull do it for me. Ill put this on everything. Caution my wife and kids wont touch this becuz they know how I like heat, but it is not too xtreem. Oh and I like other reviews cut the salt almost in half. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
The "miniature orange bell peppers" my husband thought he was growing turned out to be habeneros (oops!). Not wanting to waste them, I came across this recipe and thought "what the heck!". Now I like a nice "bite" to my hot-sauce, but we're not fire-eaters so I made this sauce using only 5 peppers. I used about a tablespoon of the mustard - I just didn't see the need to add 1/2 c. when there is already so much vinegar in the recipe, and prepared mustard tends to overpower flavors. We also did not have coriander on hand, so that was also omitted. I used 1/2 honey & 1/2 molasses so it wouldn't be so dark, as others have mentioned. The sauce is WONDERFUL - just sweet enough and just spicy enough with just enough heat for the wimps in this house, although I am sure it will heat up a little more once it sits. The next time I make this sauce, I will use 1 tsp. of ground dry mustard instead of prepared, and I am considering adding red pepper flakes to add another layer of flavor. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Not only is this hot, it has a ton of flavor. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Great sweet, peppery taste. Black pepper provides different character than most hot sauces. Makes an excellent wing sauce. I prepared with reduced mustard (1/4 cup). I would characterize this as a 7+ out of 10 on a heat scale. I prepared with 15 habaneros. Mellows significantly after it sits overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This was used as a chicken marinade (with rave reviews), though I tweaked the recipe a bit. As per the suggestion of other reviewers, I cut both the mustard and molasses to 1/4 cup, and I used peaches in lite syrup because it's what I had on hand. I also added about 6 cloves of roasted garlic. Cumin comes to the front here, but used as a marinade the flavors meld and it makes for a heavenly barbeque experience. Just reserve some sauce for basting- makes about 2 and a half pints. I should mention that using it as a marinade cuts down on the heat considerably, to the point that even the non-chileheads didn't really notice much of a burn until after finishing the chicken, so it couldn't hurt to throw a few more peppers in there if you like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I made hot sauce! I made hot sauce! I planted a few habanero plants just because I liked the idea. Then the realization hit that I really should DO something with these lovely plants. Enter Bob's recipe. I followed it exactly except: 1) because other reviews said that it was too sweet the first time around, I still used peaches in heavy syrup, but drained and rinsed them. 2) I didn't use allspice just because I didn't have it. The result was a VERY spicy but tasty sauce. I can't wait to see how it mellows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I love this sweet and spicy sauce! My hubby put it on everything from buffalo shrimp to pizza! I only used 6 peppers and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This tastes awesome!!! the peaches add a nice touch. it wasn't quite spicy enough so my brother and I added 10 more habaneros to the mixture and it was even more amazing after that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States