Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Far too sweet and far too runny. I tried a modified version of this recipe first, cutting back on the sweets (yellow mustard, brown sugar) by half and substituting the molasses for honey to keep the beautiful color of the habaneros. The flavor was spicy hot but I wanted it to have some viscosity as well, so I tried it again thinking the molasses would thicken it enough which it didn't unfortunately. It also darkened it way too much for my liking. Will try again with honey, half the sweets, and less vinegar to keep it from getting too 'watery'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Perfect blend of sweet and spicy. I wasn't sure when I was making this if molasses and the peaches would work. IT WORKED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
An awesome hot sauce recipe! I cooked it to reduce the heat from the habaneros and got a BBQ'esque (new word?) hot sauce! A big hit with the kids I cook for! Just remember to wear gloves! WoOhOo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefVlade

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Modena, New York, USA
Living In: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Complex and full of flavor. You won't go to store shelves for sauces anymore. I like using 1/4 C mustard and 20-25 jabs...with seeds... a few Fresnos...GREAT recipe. Friends request bottles of it even though its SO hot...a testament to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I expected this sauce to be spicier. It had a great flavor but next time I will add more habaneros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Great recipe, despite 12 Habs not as hot as the title suggests. Works well plain, as a base for other salsas and mixed into sour cream as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe! I added liquid smoke and some garic cloves... and am wishing I wore gloves while making it! Great sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This sauce is WONDERFUL! Spicy but with a little sweetness too. I'll be making more of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I gave this recipe 5 stars instead of the 4 that I'm really feeling about it mainly because I want people to try it. GREAT recipe, but with some flaws. I just finished my second time making it. (made a double batch this time) The first time with all scotch bonnets(which for those of you who don't know, are about equivalent in heat to habeneros) and this time I made them with MOSTLY Bhut Ghost Peppers (which for those of you who don't know, is the second hottest pepper in the world). For anyone who does not want their sauce to be sweet, I HIGHLY recommend cutting the brown sugar AND the molasses in half. I substituted honey for the molasses the first time and it was fine. I also use peaches in LIGHT syrup to make the sauce less thick AND as a bonus it lowers the calorie count. With scotch bonnets I ended up using 15 peppers. With the Ghost peppers I ended up using 6. I also, per some reviews add a few cloves of garlic, some grated white onion, fresh thyme leaves, and a lime juice water mixture to my sauce to my tastes. Overall with these changes to my preferences, this recipe makes an AMAZING sauce that is great on ANYTHING. Start with half of the sweet ingredients and 3/4ths of the peppers and then add accordingly to your specific tastes. Stop adding peppers when the sauce is just a TAD bit milder than you like because the heat will increase a little as it ages in the fridge. Try it and you wont regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Spice mix is OVERWHELMING! Trust me on this, use 1/4 of the cumin they recommend or eliminate it all together. Cumin is the dominate flavor of this sauce. I just dipped a knife into the sauce after letting it sit all night. All I taste is sweet, spicy cumin. A good recipe will marry flavors without one overpowering the other. I used ghost chilies (Naga Morich) peppers in my recipe. I only had to use 3 of them and MAN, IS IT HOT! They also taste better than habanero peppers do. I also used 1/2 of the mustard recommended based on others reviews. If it wasn't for the cumin it might be palatable. I recommend making a batch without the spice mix. Pour a little into a bowl and add the spices one by one. That way you can experiment with flavor profiles without ruining the entire dish. I will try this again and take my own advice in the process, but as for now this recipe gets 1 star from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States