Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by yemoss
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
this is a great recipe to modify! i opted for a few cubes of frozen pineapple instead of canned peaches. i also added some saucy susan instead of the peach syrup. had no molasses, so i whipped up a crazy alternative: some agave syrup, balsamic, a few squirts of ketchup and some vinegar from a hot cherry peppers jar. i also used apple cider vinegar instead of white, and threw in a few lemon and lime slices, rind and all. i added some curry, chili and cayenne powder to the mix as well as a few dashes of Dave's Insanity Sauce and Frank's Red Hot to really crank it up. for the mustard i used a blend of Grey Poupon and CaJohn's Jolokia 10. You would think the heat level would be incendiary, but I used frozen habs and bonnets, whose heat diminishes over time. fresh chocolate habs from the market would have made a heck of a difference. either way, a great recipe to go crazy over and personalize. nice share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Wildly delicious! Even though I followed some suggestions and reduced the mustard and salt. And even though I used mango instead of peaches and apple cider vinegar instead distilled... I would have been lost as too where to begin to find such a fantastic combination of spices and therefor believe it deserves a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I love this recipe and use it as a base for my BBQ sauce. My entire family loves it ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I took other folks advice and I cut back on the mustard and the used honey instead of molasses. Great sauce. I can't stop eating it. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I've tried *lots* of habanero sauce recipes and this is the best sauce I've ever had. I looked for a long time for something that would approximate the Tabasco brand habanero sauce. Although this sauce is not a perfect match, it comes pretty close. I've been making it for years with half the mustard and I use apple cider vinegar instead of white. I've also been using red habs the last couple of years - a bit hotter than the orange ones. Speaking of hot, I usually use around 18 seeded peppers instead of 12. I've experimented with different canned fruits but always come back to the peach. Pro-tip: Don't use canned pineapple; it clogs the bottle orifice. Mangos, oranges, mixed fruit tends to oversweeten. It's perfect with the peaches. Also made some and left the seeds in (pulled the stems out and threw the whole peppers in the blender). That was my "private reserve" batch which was pretty potent... almost too much. It goes good on just about everything. There is very little I don't put this on. I can it regularly and probably have about 24 pints in storage right now. Just use a hot water bath canner and boil pint jars for 30-40 minutes. I opened one the other day that was almost two years old and it tasted great. I've given bottles of this as Christmas gifts and it's quite popular. Take some boneless cut chicken pieces, flour up and deep fry, then coat them in this sauce. Put a little blue cheese on the side and watch the feeding frenzy begin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This recipe is a base for your own... still awesome! After trying this the first time I cut the mustard, cumin, allspice and coriander out completely! Reduced the brown sugar and molasses to 1/4 cup, vinegar to 1/2 cup and also used the smaller size of the canned peaches in light syrup. Instead of table salt, I use kosher salt to bring the flavor out in the peppers and about 20-25 caribbean hot peppers which are 525,000 scoville units (habaneros are 300,00) mixed with serrano peppers which I leave the seeds in. I do add approx 1 tbsp red chilli pepper powder and real ginger instead of ground ginger (it makes a difference in flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
awesome! will be making this sauce again. I added a little lemon pepper and some garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Excellent flavor, but next time I will use more peppers(I used 14). Added one Tbl of Cayenne pepper, used 1/2 cinammon and nutmeg instead of allspice, brown mustard instead of yellow and added some worcesteshire sauce at the end. More peppers in the garden so I may make a second batch for friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I used the I core of the recipe. Instead of pears I used caned mango's in light syrup. It just sounded inviting the mango habanero mixture, and I was right! I used 1/3 cup of molasses instead of 1/2. Also because I used light syrup which is more liquid'y than thick syrup, I only used 1/2 cup of vinegar. After pureeing the mixture I simmered it in a pot for about ten minutes, let cool, then put in a jar over night. Love It!! I will try it with pears next time and see how that goes, I am very confident it is great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was awesome. The only thing I changed was the molasses(dont like) and substituted with honey. I am sure it would be good with molasses too. Just a pref. I have so much I am going to freeze most of it for other stuff. I am going to try with with wings and so many other things. I have fresh habaneros in the garden so I am going to have this all year round. Maybe even share with people at work. Thanks for the recipe. Its in my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States