Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I've made this many times. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and everyone said it was sweet ( maybe a good rib sauce). Second time I reduced the molasses to 1/4 cup and used peaches in lite syrup. Huge difference - perfect HOT SAUCE. Also, second time it kept a good color after molasses was added. In a family where hot is never hot enough - this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Very good, but can really taste the mustard. I used French's yellow mustard, and that flavor is strong. I also used 7 habaneros w/ seeds and it has a nice heat to it that warms your whole mouth. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. Very good, but maybe will modify the amount mustard the next time. ***I just made another batch using only 1/8 cup mustard, 3 cloves garlic, dash of liquid smoke, 8 habs w/ seed. I didn't pre cook peppers, I placed everything into the food processor and liquified, then cooked for about 10 minutes. This is too die for! I am baking fries right now to dip in it! I am thinking this is my new JERK sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I hope you like hot!!... Really Good Sauce! Sweet, hot, complex flavors, and just when you think everything is fine, those habaneros come strolling across your tongue in a sort of delayed reaction and make your hair stand up... I made a double batch of this stuff, using just two tablespoons of yellow mustard, and added a teaspoon of liquid smoke. Otherwise, followed the recipe. It was a nice fiery orange color when I had processed the habs and the peaches. When I added in the molasses every thing turned a dark reddish brown... Sort of looks like BBQ sauce. Still good, but I may try using light amber honey intead of molasses next time to keep that lovely orange glow. It just seems like this sauce should be a nice red-orange color, to match the taste. Regardless, this sauce is fantastic! It gets better as it ages and mellows. I will definately make this again, after I go through the two 24 oz. jars I made the first time! (It is going fast...) I think I will try bottling some for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I have made this sauce three times and like it each time. The first time I made this, the mustard taste was too strong. The second time I made it, I omitted the mustard and added a little liquid smoke, delicious! The third time I added a few peppers with seeds to give it more heat (I like it hot) with the liquid smoke and no mustard. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Good Stuff! I also added about 10 or so cloves of roasted garlic. Then I took half the batch and put it in a sauce pan. Heated it up and added a little cornstarch and peach juice together to thicken it. Awesome stuff on hamburgers. Really tasty and doesn't kill your taste buds! I have both thick and thin sauce to cover any foods you want to add a little kick to! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I love this recipe but had enough habaneros to make four batches. I now have 160 oz of this sauce and am not sure what to do with it. I tried freezing it in a muffin tin as another user did, however, it just turned into slush. I'd really like to jar it or can it so I can save some and give some away but I'm not sure if it will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slapshot31

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This is excellent. We pan roasted some garlic and aded it. It was not as hot as we expected. next time, we are going to add jalapenos, 1/2 the molasses and use honey, add some finely minced onions, and lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I gave this recipe 5 stars instead of the 4 that I'm really feeling about it mainly because I want people to try it. GREAT recipe, but with some flaws. I just finished my second time making it. (made a double batch this time) The first time with all scotch bonnets(which for those of you who don't know, are about equivalent in heat to habeneros) and this time I made them with MOSTLY Bhut Ghost Peppers (which for those of you who don't know, is the second hottest pepper in the world). For anyone who does not want their sauce to be sweet, I HIGHLY recommend cutting the brown sugar AND the molasses in half. I substituted honey for the molasses the first time and it was fine. I also use peaches in LIGHT syrup to make the sauce less thick AND as a bonus it lowers the calorie count. With scotch bonnets I ended up using 15 peppers. With the Ghost peppers I ended up using 6. I also, per some reviews add a few cloves of garlic, some grated white onion, fresh thyme leaves, and a lime juice water mixture to my sauce to my tastes. Overall with these changes to my preferences, this recipe makes an AMAZING sauce that is great on ANYTHING. Start with half of the sweet ingredients and 3/4ths of the peppers and then add accordingly to your specific tastes. Stop adding peppers when the sauce is just a TAD bit milder than you like because the heat will increase a little as it ages in the fridge. Try it and you wont regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Great sauce. I made half because I didn't have a lot of peppers. I used 5 small habaneros. Didn't have peaches, but added a little more sugar. Didn't have mollasses, but used honey instead, and a little more honey to make up for the peaches. Very good, smoky, sweet, devilish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is magnificant! I only used 10 habaneros (Just a wimp I guess.) but it is just the perfect hotness, with a wonderful flavor. Very quick and easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaMock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States