Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Great recipe. changed the molasses to honey(sweeter and left the color lighter.) i did make this with habanero and it was great as a hot sauce. afterwards (when my plant had good peppers) i substituted the habanero peppers with (6 not 12) Ghost peppers (bhut jolokia) resulting in a hot sauce with great flavors but even more heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was OK. I'd prefer better than OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
We love this sauce. We grow our own habaneros and this an excellent recipe to use them in. Our favorite way to use it is as a marinade/baste for grilled chicken breast. It adds a sweet, spicy flavor. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
The value of this recipe is the ingredient list - as with any recipe, you have to adjust quantities and ratios to your taste and your objectives. I was going for a flavorful but super-hot sauce. Used 2 dozen habaneros from my garden, seeds and all, 2 cans lite peaches, 2 Tbsp ea deli mustard, brown sugar, salt, and paprika, 1 Tbsp ea dark molasses, honey and black pepper, 1 cup white vinegar, 1 tsp liquid smoke, 1/2 tsp ea cumin, coriander, ginger and allspice, and a whole head of roasted garlic. Put it all in a blender and liquefied, then simmered on stove for about 20 min to blend flavors. Sealed in small jars and refrigerated. My pepperhead friends and relatives have raved - used as is and as an addition to rubs and bastes for grilling meat. My wife and daughter say I'm crazy. I'm getting ready for a 2nd batch! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Really good! I used 16 peppers 5 with seeds, Half the mustard, half the molasses and added a dash of liquid smoke like some people sugested. I took a cup of this and added it to a 12oz jar of peach preserves to use for a marinade for chicken for Fathers day BBQ. I'm also thinking of mixing some with cream cheese for a dip...........UPDATE, Just made the best dip ever with this. I used 2 8oz pkgs of cream cheese, 1 cup mayo, 2 4 oz cans of chillie peppers 1 hot 1 mild, 1 cup chedar cheese about 1/4 cup of this hot sauce mixed it all together put it in a 8 x 8 glass pan toped with a little panko bread crumbs and baked for 30 min at 350. AWESOME!!! Going to the store tomorrow to buy some canning jars so I can make a triple batch of this......the batch I made today is 2/3 gone already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This recipe is great, but we did alter it some. We grilled the habaneros, cut the amount of salt, and pepper in half, and used apple cider vinegar instead. All in all, great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I used 1/3 cup honey mustard instead of yellow mustard, 1/2 cup honey instead of molasses, a mix of pineapple and papaya in passion fruit juice instead of peaches, 1.5 tbsp paprika and 1.5 tbsp black pepper. Used about half of the juice/syrup from the fruit. Only cut off the stem from the habaneros and added a clove a garlic and some lemon juice. Everyone who has tried it loves it, I don't think it is hot enough, but it is good enough to go on almost everything. Going to try another batch with some spicy mustard and less honey and a bit more salt and increase the number of habaneros to 15, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Just amazing the heat is just right.But next time Im gonna add 15 peppers for more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDrunkWalrus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I prepared this just as the recipe stated. Only bad thing, it came out light brown. Didn't come nowhere near the orange glow like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
All I can say is this is an AWESOME recipe!!! It is great on everything even as a marinade. I will never buy store bought hot sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States