Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
SUPER sweet. I made 3 batches. First batch was exactly as written. (Except I used canned peaches in LIGHT syrup for all 3 batches, instead of heavy syrup as written) Very spicy, but way to sweet. Second batch I substituted honey for the molasses, and it was still too sweet. Third batch I omitted the molasses and honey, making the sweetness only come from the brown sugar. It was better, but still too sweet for my liking. It's a good sauce maybe for the grill, as a marinade, but not slathered on a burrito like I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
This was phenomenal! My fiance planted a habanero plant & then informed me he had no idea what to do with all the habanero's that had ripened. Step in Allrecipes.com ... I wanted a hot sauce worthy of his taste buds & already have a ton of spices in my cabinet so this was a great contender. Based on other reviews, I made the following changes - I used 6 seeded & 6 de-seeded peppers, a 1/2 c molasses & 1/2 c honey (to keep some of the color - dark red, almost brown). I didn't have 1/2 c yellow mustard so I used about 2 T & this seemed a good amount anyway. I only had peaches in light syrup & this worked just fine for me. I also used slightly less cumin than 1 T and it was very prominent flavor so next time (next weekend since I'll have 40 habaneros by then) I'll use 1/2 T. Instead of throwing everything in the food processor and then the jars, I cooked it for 12 minutes on the stove to marry the flavors together. Also, I'd like to note that this was enough for 4 & 1/2 8oz jars for canning and after tasting the smallest bit on the tip of my tongue, I could still taste the heat 45 minutes later ..... it was that HOT. I may tone it down to 8 to 10 habaneros for a milder hot sauce (personal preference) or eliminate the seeds all together. Thanks for submitting Bob!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connorsmommy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Troy, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Awesome hot sauce! We like it really hot so we leave the seeds in 3/4 of the peppers. I use dark brown sugar, replace the molasses with honey, and omit the coriander. Comes out awesome every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This was fabulous - the first batch is almost gone and everyone in my family is loving it! I doubled the recipe right away, and added a few more peaches to balance the hot/sweet. Made a Pork picnic roast on grill after marinating for fathers day. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I took others advice and went with 8 habaneros and 3 tbs of mustard and must say its delicious although rather hot. I will try 6 next time, couldnt imagine using 12 and i love spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have made this multiple times, and have begun altering it to make it into an amazing BBQ sauce (great for pork and chicken). Try adding some honey and/or pineapple to the blend for a sweeter, thicker sauce. Bob, ya did good work here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ?????? ?????

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Wow! This is an excellent recipe! I followed everything exactly, except for the molasses. I used some honey instead, due to not having any on hand. I cut the mustard down to 1/4 cup also. I would definitely recommend this to the HOT lovers, it is very hot with a nice flavor! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thorn Skarthborg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smokedhabanero
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made this using 12 unseeded habaneros, and 3tblsp of mustard. I also only used a 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and 1/4 cup of honey instead of molasses. I thought it had great flavor, but a little sweet for my liking as a hot sauce. I used it as a marinade instead. It made some of the tastiest pork I've had. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smokedhabanero
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I followed some of the suggested tips. Just a little mustard, used smoked sea salt, added garlic and cooked half of it into wing sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made this using only 5 habaneros, personal preference. After blending, I boiled for 20 minutes and canned in ball jars as I wasn't sure of the shelf life of this recipe. We decided to call it our spicy bbq sauce. Wish it would have a thicker consistency but the flavor was on point and I can see using it as marinade also. I did NOT find that the mustard was overpowering in any way whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THERRERA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States