Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Great sweet, peppery taste. Black pepper provides different character than most hot sauces. Makes an excellent wing sauce. I prepared with reduced mustard (1/4 cup). I would characterize this as a 7+ out of 10 on a heat scale. I prepared with 15 habaneros. Mellows significantly after it sits overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This was used as a chicken marinade (with rave reviews), though I tweaked the recipe a bit. As per the suggestion of other reviewers, I cut both the mustard and molasses to 1/4 cup, and I used peaches in lite syrup because it's what I had on hand. I also added about 6 cloves of roasted garlic. Cumin comes to the front here, but used as a marinade the flavors meld and it makes for a heavenly barbeque experience. Just reserve some sauce for basting- makes about 2 and a half pints. I should mention that using it as a marinade cuts down on the heat considerably, to the point that even the non-chileheads didn't really notice much of a burn until after finishing the chicken, so it couldn't hurt to throw a few more peppers in there if you like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I made hot sauce! I made hot sauce! I planted a few habanero plants just because I liked the idea. Then the realization hit that I really should DO something with these lovely plants. Enter Bob's recipe. I followed it exactly except: 1) because other reviews said that it was too sweet the first time around, I still used peaches in heavy syrup, but drained and rinsed them. 2) I didn't use allspice just because I didn't have it. The result was a VERY spicy but tasty sauce. I can't wait to see how it mellows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I love this sweet and spicy sauce! My hubby put it on everything from buffalo shrimp to pizza! I only used 6 peppers and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This tastes awesome!!! the peaches add a nice touch. it wasn't quite spicy enough so my brother and I added 10 more habaneros to the mixture and it was even more amazing after that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I'm a hot sauce lover and this recipe is a definite keeper! Based on all of the reviews I substituted 1/4 cup of honey for the molasses, reduced the yellow mustard to 1/4 cup, added 1/2 tsp of liquid smoke and 5 cloves of minced garlic. I put it on eggs every morning. Last night on jambalaya it was awesome. It's got plenty of heat and the peach and smoke flavors really round out this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Excellent sauce! I suggest NOT adding much of the canned peach syrup unless you want it pretty sweet. I add some of this to some mayo for a nice creamy and spicy dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew DK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Just made it, with my home grown habaneros. Delicious, can't wait to try it on rice, and with fish or chicken. It is a versatile sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Barclay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Great recipe!! Ive made this twice and use fresh habanaros i grow myself. Way to go Bob!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This stuff rocks!!!...we make some for the kids with only 4 or 5 seeded peppers then a batch for the adults with all 12!!! I am considered by most people that I know to be the expert on bbq and I say that this stuff could be bottled and enjoyed everywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States