Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe! I added liquid smoke and some garic cloves... and am wishing I wore gloves while making it! Great sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This sauce is WONDERFUL! Spicy but with a little sweetness too. I'll be making more of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I gave this recipe 5 stars instead of the 4 that I'm really feeling about it mainly because I want people to try it. GREAT recipe, but with some flaws. I just finished my second time making it. (made a double batch this time) The first time with all scotch bonnets(which for those of you who don't know, are about equivalent in heat to habeneros) and this time I made them with MOSTLY Bhut Ghost Peppers (which for those of you who don't know, is the second hottest pepper in the world). For anyone who does not want their sauce to be sweet, I HIGHLY recommend cutting the brown sugar AND the molasses in half. I substituted honey for the molasses the first time and it was fine. I also use peaches in LIGHT syrup to make the sauce less thick AND as a bonus it lowers the calorie count. With scotch bonnets I ended up using 15 peppers. With the Ghost peppers I ended up using 6. I also, per some reviews add a few cloves of garlic, some grated white onion, fresh thyme leaves, and a lime juice water mixture to my sauce to my tastes. Overall with these changes to my preferences, this recipe makes an AMAZING sauce that is great on ANYTHING. Start with half of the sweet ingredients and 3/4ths of the peppers and then add accordingly to your specific tastes. Stop adding peppers when the sauce is just a TAD bit milder than you like because the heat will increase a little as it ages in the fridge. Try it and you wont regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Spice mix is OVERWHELMING! Trust me on this, use 1/4 of the cumin they recommend or eliminate it all together. Cumin is the dominate flavor of this sauce. I just dipped a knife into the sauce after letting it sit all night. All I taste is sweet, spicy cumin. A good recipe will marry flavors without one overpowering the other. I used ghost chilies (Naga Morich) peppers in my recipe. I only had to use 3 of them and MAN, IS IT HOT! They also taste better than habanero peppers do. I also used 1/2 of the mustard recommended based on others reviews. If it wasn't for the cumin it might be palatable. I recommend making a batch without the spice mix. Pour a little into a bowl and add the spices one by one. That way you can experiment with flavor profiles without ruining the entire dish. I will try this again and take my own advice in the process, but as for now this recipe gets 1 star from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
It's good, but it's not liquid fire. Next time I'm putting the seeds in because this came out to about a medium hot level and that's with 15 habaneros and 12 jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Changed the recipe a bit, including the use of Bourbon, (it's the new bacon, it makes everything better!), and I used mustard seed instead of mustard, and I skipped the allspice. its good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I had a combo of habenero, jalapeno, and chile peppers so that's what I used for the peppers. I also canned some spiced peaches in syrup and used those, so I omitted the spices at the very end of the recipe. I LOVE trying different kinds of hot sauce but have a limited selection in my neck of the woods and never thought of making one until I came across this recipe. Glad I found it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Too many spices give this otherwise delicious hot sauce a cheap taste. I recommend reducing them all by more than half (except for the salt and pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is great. I roasted my homegrown Caribbean red habaneros and followed the rest of the recipe to a T. It is outstanding! Next time, I won't roast the habaneros...don't think it's necessary! Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was SO easy to make, with a large yield, for minimal cost. I will never buy hot sauce again! I used what I had on hand, so I ended up substituting peaches for my homemade canned pears, and I used half white vinegar and half balsamic vinegar. It gave the sauce a dark, rich brownish-red colour, as well as a distinct smoky mesquite flavour. Absolutely delicous, and the right amount of heat and flavour too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States