Bob's Cinnamon-Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
So good! I thought the raisins might burn or get hard, but I was wrong. I used whole wheat flour, and found that I had to add an extra 1/2 cup. Wonderful taste, wonderful smell! I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
These tasted great. I did need to add more water before I cooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
If you are reading these reviews, trying to decide if you want to try this recipe, then read on! I found this recipe by doing an ingredient search for pancakes made without milk. Wow, am I glad we ran out of milk! Don't be turned off by the bad reviews. They just needed to play around with the recipe a little. These are the changes that I made: Used apple juice,(since I didn't have apple cider), added 1/8 teaspoon salt to enhance flavor,and added 1/2 cup extra juice, after cooking oats in microwave, to thin out batter,(and it also cooled the mixture quicker). I added oats, apple juice, vinegar, butter and raisins altogether before cooking. This melted the butter and also softened the raisins. Then I added the extra 1/2 cup apple juice after the oat mixture was microwaved. This cooled the oats enough to add the 2 eggs without scrambling them. After stirring in the eggs, I added the flour and baking powder, and mixed thoroughly. I used a gravy ladle to pour into a cast iron skillet on medium to medium low flame with a little oil and butter for frying. You can not cook these too quickly. After pancake turned golden brown around edges, I flipped them and cooked another 45 or so seconds. I put pancakes on plate and buttered tops and drizzled maple syrup over top. Delicious! Made a batch with raisins and without...I prefer without, but thats a matter of taste. Thanks Bob for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
I printed this out a long time ago and finally got around to trying them out today. These were just awful. I followed the recipe exactly and don't know how anyone could like the reults I got - and I'm not that hard to please. There was a distinct vinegar flavor and they were soggy. I tried one bite of the first batch and didn't even finish cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Delicious variation to normal pancakes! I will probably add a tablespoon or so of sugar to the batter next time, just for a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Not a hit at our table. We did not taste the oatmeal and they were not fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
These are pretty good. Nice flavor, texture was a bit dense. The batter was very thick. WAY too thick to pour, almost like a soft dough. I spread it out with the back of a spoon, and they came out fine, but I think that next time I will skip cooking the oatmeal in the microwave. I like a little more texture from an oatmeal pancake. Note: These smell WONDERFUL while you are cooking them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
I used separate bowls and mixed the egg mixture into the liquid a bit at at time. I omitted the raisens the second time, too sweet my our taste. They have become a regular in my house. I think they are great! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
i'm with hamsalad--too thick, wouldn't cook through. and the vinegar gave them a slightly weird flavor. first daughter only ate one, second is sitting here with two bites of the first one left--daughter #2 just scraped her plate. oh well, they sounded good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
The vinegar gives this a nice punch - I want these for breakfast everyday!!! Thanks Bob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States