Bob's Cinnamon-Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
So good! I thought the raisins might burn or get hard, but I was wrong. I used whole wheat flour, and found that I had to add an extra 1/2 cup. Wonderful taste, wonderful smell! I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
These tasted great. I did need to add more water before I cooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
If you are reading these reviews, trying to decide if you want to try this recipe, then read on! I found this recipe by doing an ingredient search for pancakes made without milk. Wow, am I glad we ran out of milk! Don't be turned off by the bad reviews. They just needed to play around with the recipe a little. These are the changes that I made: Used apple juice,(since I didn't have apple cider), added 1/8 teaspoon salt to enhance flavor,and added 1/2 cup extra juice, after cooking oats in microwave, to thin out batter,(and it also cooled the mixture quicker). I added oats, apple juice, vinegar, butter and raisins altogether before cooking. This melted the butter and also softened the raisins. Then I added the extra 1/2 cup apple juice after the oat mixture was microwaved. This cooled the oats enough to add the 2 eggs without scrambling them. After stirring in the eggs, I added the flour and baking powder, and mixed thoroughly. I used a gravy ladle to pour into a cast iron skillet on medium to medium low flame with a little oil and butter for frying. You can not cook these too quickly. After pancake turned golden brown around edges, I flipped them and cooked another 45 or so seconds. I put pancakes on plate and buttered tops and drizzled maple syrup over top. Delicious! Made a batch with raisins and without...I prefer without, but thats a matter of taste. Thanks Bob for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
I printed this out a long time ago and finally got around to trying them out today. These were just awful. I followed the recipe exactly and don't know how anyone could like the reults I got - and I'm not that hard to please. There was a distinct vinegar flavor and they were soggy. I tried one bite of the first batch and didn't even finish cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Delicious variation to normal pancakes! I will probably add a tablespoon or so of sugar to the batter next time, just for a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Not a hit at our table. We did not taste the oatmeal and they were not fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
These are pretty good. Nice flavor, texture was a bit dense. The batter was very thick. WAY too thick to pour, almost like a soft dough. I spread it out with the back of a spoon, and they came out fine, but I think that next time I will skip cooking the oatmeal in the microwave. I like a little more texture from an oatmeal pancake. Note: These smell WONDERFUL while you are cooking them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
I used separate bowls and mixed the egg mixture into the liquid a bit at at time. I omitted the raisens the second time, too sweet my our taste. They have become a regular in my house. I think they are great! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
i'm with hamsalad--too thick, wouldn't cook through. and the vinegar gave them a slightly weird flavor. first daughter only ate one, second is sitting here with two bites of the first one left--daughter #2 just scraped her plate. oh well, they sounded good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
The vinegar gives this a nice punch - I want these for breakfast everyday!!! Thanks Bob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States