Bob's Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bethze
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Great taste, lots of color ... an excellent salad!! In shopping for beans, I was surprised how many are canned with high fructose corn syrup! I couldn't find the correct size cans either (all had more than the recipe called for, but I used all the beans anyway). If you want to avoid corn syrup, here are the brands I found WITHOUT it: Pastene Kidney Beans, Shur Fine Pinto Beans, and Bush's Best Garbanzos. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
This was delicious and made a nice side dish for grilling. I used un-marinated artichoke hearts for a healthier dish and green onion for color. I certainly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This salad was excellent. I made it for a pot luck at work and was asked for the recipe by tons of people. The feta cheese is a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t*d*b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
The dressing is perfect; somehow it brings out the sweetness of the beans. I subbed black beans for the pinto beans and plain artichoke hearts (instead of marinated), and added a couple stalks of celery that I happened to have the fridge. Even my 4-year-old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Okay, so now I am in love with Bob. Or at least with his salad. And I didn't even have some of the yummiest sounding ingredients. I usually am not fond of three bean salad. But this dressing with balsamic vinegar won me over. I confess though -- I added another 2 teaspoons of sugar. But probably not needed. I poured the dressing over frozen green beans (thawed), a can of garbonzo beans, a can of red beans, and three big green onions, chopped. Super good. I cannot wait to make it again and include the red pepper, artichokes, and feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
h
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This dressing really hits the spot! And I like to add black olives and tomatoes. Really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSARTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I thought it was delightful. For breakfast, I sprinkled bacon on top and at it with poached eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
we have made this several times.....using 3 or 4 cans of what ever beans in the house...never sweet beans only plain. favorites are black and pinto and kidney. add MORE feta...and what ever onion is available...red bell pepper is great but celery will do...artichokes are a must!! the dressing is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States