Bob's Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by bethze
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Great taste, lots of color ... an excellent salad!! In shopping for beans, I was surprised how many are canned with high fructose corn syrup! I couldn't find the correct size cans either (all had more than the recipe called for, but I used all the beans anyway). If you want to avoid corn syrup, here are the brands I found WITHOUT it: Pastene Kidney Beans, Shur Fine Pinto Beans, and Bush's Best Garbanzos. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Very simple but flavorful. This kept well in the fridge for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This is a wonderful, original, easy-to-make salad. It tastes even better after it has marinated for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was pretty good, but it seems like something is missing. Maybe some onion or garlic might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYD203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Well this one is definetly a keeper! It's easy to make, you can eat it guilt-free, and last but not least, it is absolutely delicious! My boyfriend raved about how good it was and started telling me how we should start taking this salad to all the pot lucks we go to! Oh!!! I did "step it up a notch" and put olives, green beans, and instead of pinto beans, I used white beans. It really did turn out great. Thanks for the yummy salad Bob!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie.tack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colfax, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This one's a keeper--we love this salad. Even my 7 year old eats it! I usually use blue cheese instead of the feta, because that's what is usually on hand. Other than that, I follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
h
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I've made this recipe many times and absolutely love it. I always substitute black beans for the garbanzo but other than that, I make it exactly as listed. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
It reminds me of five bean salad, just not as colorful or sweet. So I think its good just the flavors a little lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
The balsamic turned it brown. I didnt add peppers, but adding any colored pepper might help! BUT it tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States