Bob's Awesome Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe. Very quick and easy to prepare. I made a few changes: added one box of frozen, chopped spinach to the cheese mixture. I added one egg to the cheese mixture to bind it together. I also added a few dashes of grated nutmeg to the cheese mixture. I added 1/4 cup parmesan cheese to the cheese mixture, I added 1 can diced garlic basil tomatoes to the spachetti sauce (45 oz. jar). I added 1 Tbsp. Italian seasoning. I used 1.5 pounds of ground beef. I used 10 0z. ricotta cheese and 10 oz. cottage cheese. I used 2 teaspoons minced garlic instead of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
First time making lasagna and this was pretty good! I made some changes based on other reviews. The first change was my own, using a 10x15 pan to make more. This gave me enough to feed a family of 4 twice and freeze enough for another meal. I doubled everything... the meat (2 pounds), the sauce (64 ounces), the cheese (32oz of Ricotta) and the spices. I mixed in 2 eggs with the ricotta along with oregano and parmesean cheese. I cooked the 15 lasagna noodles, but will try the soaking method next time. I added a can of diced tomatoes and minced green pepper to the sauce. I also put a little sauce on the bottom of the pan to prevent sticking. All in all, this was pretty good but using a bigger dish I didn't have quite enough sauce, ricotta or mozzarella. I cooked it for the suggested 1 hour but left it covered the entire time to prevent drying out. Next time I'll up the meat to 3 pounds, use slightly more ricotta, another can of diced tomatoes and use more mozarella (24 oz.) Also, I'll probably add some spinach to the Ricotta. Maybe add some mushrooms to the sauce. But remember, my changes are for a 10x15 dish and not the 9x13. At the end of the day, this was an excellent starter recipe that needed a little tweaking. Thanks alot Bob and all of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was a good basic recipe. I think it needed more Italian spice in it though. It also didn't need to be cooked for a whole hour. It was probably ready to come out after 45 minutes. But, still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Best recipe ever for lasagna...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puravida555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maiden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Wow, great recipe! I did double the meat and sauce. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Robbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This lasagna is super easy and fast to make. In the last 2 months I've made it atleast 3 times and my husband and son love it. Not only that but even reheated for lunch its really good. Definitely delicious and easy on the pockets! The only thing I changed was the cottage cheese which I subsituted with the traditional ricotta... YUM! I've already shared this recipe with my sister and a friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
My son (22 months) ate the whole plate, i used ricotta instead of cottage and it had a kind of sour taste to it but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Added the spinach like another reviewer stated as well as an egg to the cottage cheese mixture. Mixed the cheese up a bit with mozzarella and mexican cheese. Added an additional diced up roma tomato and chopped basil leaves as well. I found that the cottage cheese mixture was too little, only enough for 2 1/3 layers...tasted like ordinary lasagna to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie.oakley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I love this lasagna! I don't know why I haven't rated it before. I like to use turkey sausage because I have it on hand more often than ground beef, and I toss in a little italian seasoning, basil, oregano and red pepper flakes while I'm simmering the sauce. I also add a little parmesan to the layers. I like to assemble this a day ahead (without cooking the noodles) and then baked for an hour when I'm ready. I never precook lasagna noodles, and they always come out great. I also like to added some finely chopped frozen spinach. Aside from being green, you can hide that in just about anything! This is a good simple lasagna, just like the one I grew up with. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States