Bob's Awesome Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
A nice basic lasagna recipe. I did change a few things. I doubled the recipe. I added a container of ricotta cheese and some parmesan to the cheese mixture along with two eggs as a binder. I used my two new lasagna pans (They have three long wells the shape of a lasagna noodle to make three long individual lasagnas - I LOVE THEM!) and it made two full pans three thick layers deep. I also tripled the sauce (so three times the sauce but a double batch of everything else) it called for and added a few small bay leaves as it simmered. Bay just does something special for italian food (and chicken too). I was able to freeze several of the mini lasagnas for later so this was an awesome way to make six lasagnas and have some left over for the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
first lasagna I've ever made and it was simple and delicious! I did mix some spinach in with the meat mixture, and even the kids ate it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I suppose the name speaks for itself: this really was awesome. Simple to prepare and full of flavor, it was such a great weekday meal. I used ground turkey instead of beef to lighten it up a bit (no need to double it, unless you REALLY love meat) and used Lowry's seasoning and garlic powder to season, and added 10 oz. frozen spinach (thawed & drained) as per other reviewers' suggestions. I used about a jar and a half of Ragu Garden Vegetable sauce and might even use a bit extra, next time. Subbed ricotta for the cottage cheese and added dried parsley and one beaten egg. Also used the suggestion to soak the hard noodles in hot water while I cooked everything else. It came together beautifully, cooked perfectly in an hour and made my apartment smell homey and delicious. This is definitely my go-to lasagna recipe when I just don't feel like slaving away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was excellent. I added more italian seasoning and garlic than called for. I also split mine in half--half with meat sauce, and half without meat but with chopped broccoli and carrots. I added a frozen/defrosted package of spinach and 1 egg to the cottage cheese and placed throughout it all. The meat eaters loved the meatless part equally well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
It was my first lasagna I read the reviews and used 2 eggs for the cheese mix, and more sauce. I think It needed more cheese. with 8oz noodles, i was able to go up to 5 levels, so not enough cheese, nor meat. but turned out well, i also added spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe. Very quick and easy to prepare. I made a few changes: added one box of frozen, chopped spinach to the cheese mixture. I added one egg to the cheese mixture to bind it together. I also added a few dashes of grated nutmeg to the cheese mixture. I added 1/4 cup parmesan cheese to the cheese mixture, I added 1 can diced garlic basil tomatoes to the spachetti sauce (45 oz. jar). I added 1 Tbsp. Italian seasoning. I used 1.5 pounds of ground beef. I used 10 0z. ricotta cheese and 10 oz. cottage cheese. I used 2 teaspoons minced garlic instead of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
First time making lasagna and this was pretty good! I made some changes based on other reviews. The first change was my own, using a 10x15 pan to make more. This gave me enough to feed a family of 4 twice and freeze enough for another meal. I doubled everything... the meat (2 pounds), the sauce (64 ounces), the cheese (32oz of Ricotta) and the spices. I mixed in 2 eggs with the ricotta along with oregano and parmesean cheese. I cooked the 15 lasagna noodles, but will try the soaking method next time. I added a can of diced tomatoes and minced green pepper to the sauce. I also put a little sauce on the bottom of the pan to prevent sticking. All in all, this was pretty good but using a bigger dish I didn't have quite enough sauce, ricotta or mozzarella. I cooked it for the suggested 1 hour but left it covered the entire time to prevent drying out. Next time I'll up the meat to 3 pounds, use slightly more ricotta, another can of diced tomatoes and use more mozarella (24 oz.) Also, I'll probably add some spinach to the Ricotta. Maybe add some mushrooms to the sauce. But remember, my changes are for a 10x15 dish and not the 9x13. At the end of the day, this was an excellent starter recipe that needed a little tweaking. Thanks alot Bob and all of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was a good basic recipe. I think it needed more Italian spice in it though. It also didn't need to be cooked for a whole hour. It was probably ready to come out after 45 minutes. But, still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Best recipe ever for lasagna...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puravida555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maiden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States