Bob's Awesome Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Very rich and tender lasagne and easy/quick to prepare. But a few additions: add 1/2 box of 10oz. frozen, chopped spinach to meat mixture while cooking for more nutrition & color. Moms, this is a good way to sneak in something green. Also, as previous reviews states, the cottage cheese needs one egg to bind together or else it's too runny. And add a few dashes of grated nutmeg to cottage mixture- (an old italian secret!). And one more trick for lasagna makers: no need to wash an extra pot to boil lasagna noodles. Put very hot tap water into a large bowl and soak the raw, hard noodles for 20-30 min. Noodles won't be cooked, but soft and can complete it's cooking in the oven. I learned this trick from a caterer, try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
777 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This is truly a fast (45 minutes to prepare ingredients) and easy recipe. This was my first lasagna ever, and it turned out really tasty. I did use Ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese (wanted a classic feel), however, I don't think it had any impact on the taste. I read all of the reviews and based on all suggestions made the following alterations: 1. Doubled the meat amount. 2. Added 1 teaspoon dried oregano to meat/spaghetti sause mixture. 3. Added 1 1/2 teaspoons Italian seasonig to meat/spaghetti sause mixture. 4. Used Presco Spaghetti sause with mushrooms 5. Added 1 teaspoon dried oregano to cheese mixture. 6. Added 2 eggs to cheese mixture 7. Added 2 teaspoons of fresh minsed parsley to cheese mix 8. Added a layer of sauteed mushrooms after the meat layer. 9. Added a few slices (5 per layer) of Provologne cheese after the mozarella, except for the top (no Provologne cheese there). 10. Did not grease the pan, but put a layer of meat instead. 11. Did not cook the lasagna noodles beforehand. They cooked very well in the oven. 12. Kept in the oven heated to 350F for about 50 minutes. Next time I'll try Italian sausage and some garlic in the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
By far the best lasana I've ever had. Almost too easy to be true!! The only alteration I make is I mix the two cheeses together along with two eggs which holds it together better. When I get to the top layer I top the last layer of cheese mixture with a light layer of only mozzeralla chesse. Make it the night before and bake it the next day---really lets the flavor set in!! YUMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This recipe turned out very good....but of course I tweaked it a little bit. I used a pound and a half of ground beef due to other's suggestions to add more beef. I used one whole medium onion, chopped, and 2 tablespoons of chopped garlic, and sauteed them before adding them to the browned meat. I spiced that up with a little salt and pepper, garlic powder, and italian seasoning. I then added just enough gravy (spaghetti sauce) to the meat mixture so it was absorbed, but not runny, then I let that simmer. (Hint - use at least 52 oz. of sauce total in the recipe, or else your lasagna will be dry.) Meanwhile I mixed up the cheeses (I substituted ricotta for the cottage cheese and locatelli for the parmesan - more authentic) and used Barilla lasagna noodles and did not boil them first - followed the no boil suggestion. I layered with my ingredients according to the Barilla box - but sprinkled a little Italian seasoning on the final layer of mozzarella cheese. Covered with foil and baked at 360 for 55 minutes, then removed the foil and baked for another 5 minutes. My husband could not wait to eat it, and he has been raving about it for 3 days now. Thanks to Bob and Barilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Bob is my hero! My family would eat this every night if I would make it. I discovered this recipe in december and have made it 6 times in the last 2 months! Based on other reviews I made three small changes; I used no boil lasagna noodles, 2 (26 oz) jars of spaghetti sauce, and I mixed 1 (15 oz)pkg. ricotta cheese with the cottage cheese. Perfect every time. Thanks Bob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
A very good basic recipe. I did make a few changes; I used no-boil pasta, 2 (26 ounce) jars of sauce, added 1 pound of sweet italian sausage (boiled 1st for an hour then sliced & put into sauce) & 32 ounces of riccota (mixed w/ 1 egg & 1/4 cup of grated parmesan)instead of the cottage cheese. I baked at a temp of 375. Cooked covered with tin foil for about 40 minutes & then uncovered for 20 minutes. Came out fantastic...good enough for Italian inlaws on Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This was really good and super easy. However, I would recommend that you add more sauce because I ran out and had to open another jar and used about 1/2 of it. Also, don't grease the pan, just add a thin layer of the meat sauce and it won't stick. I substituted 1.5 bls of ground turkey for the beef and fresh garlic for the garlic salt. This was my first time making lasagna, so I was a little lost as to what to do for the top layer since the directions were vague. For the last layer, it's noodle, sauce, then mozzarella cheese. And at the last 10 mins, I sprinkled on parmasan and it was good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
I tried this as a change to my usual recipe. Maybe it's just my mediterranian backround but I didn't think this lasagna was so "awesome"...actually I found it to be fairly bland tasting and I felt it could do with a good dose of herbs. I also found that using the exact quantities outlined in this recipe, that the meat sauce was half what I needed to complete the layers. No way does this recipe serve 12 people. I think this lasagne would be OK for those used to "American Italian" cooking but I'll be sticking with the traditional recipe given to me by my Italian neighbour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
im sorry, this was awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Absolutely wonderful! I followed the suggestions to add more cottage cheese, and I also added the 1/2 cup of water to the sauce so I didn't boil the noodles.. I also covered the lasagna with aluminum foil for the last 20 minutes, because it had already gotten pretty brown. Perfect, and my husband loved his birthday dinner. Thanks, Bob!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBA21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States