Bobotie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I regularly make bobotie and thought to give this recipe a try. It was "okay", but I have to suggest a few changes: As said by someone else - you CAN brown the mince and onions in a pan !! (I usually do). Then add the seasoning + 1 pinch of ground cloves + 1 pinch of ground coriander seed. Use 2 slices of soaked bread that haven't been drained too well and mix into the mince. Then place in a baking dish. Bake at 200C for about 15min. For the topping: if using 2 eggs it gives a lighter and fluffier dish if you use about 150/200ml of milk (maybe even more if you like the creamy topping). Bake 20 min. To make it even easier: If you're frying the mince before baking - place the seasoned mince in a baking dish and pour over the topping immediately. Bake at 200C for 35-45min. untill golden brown. The topping seeps into the mince mixture giving you a deliciously moist dish. Serve with yellow rice with raisins. (Just steam your rice with some tumeric, raisins and a pinch of cinnamon). A light green salad, slices of banana and caramalised sweet potatoes make it complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
The recipe is fine, as long as it's kept in mind that, as a trad. dish, there are hundreds of small variations. I use apricot jam instead of chutney, but a fruity, quite sweet chutney is fine. One reviewer was wrong when she said the meat and onions are always fried in a pan first. No, this should be a quick dish (once you have the ingredients) and I certainly have never fried the meat first. One person altered the recipe so much that it could not bear much resemlance to the original! I understand about the milk allergy, but why leave out the breadcrumbs? It improves the texture. Try soy milk next time, or yoghurt, if that's okay. The egg-milk-turmeric custard should be poured over the top about 20 mins. before it comes out of the oven, and is a "characteristic" of this comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Good, but for a more authentic version use minced lamb and replace the bay leaves with fragrant fresh lemon or lime leaves. Serve with basmati rice flavoured with turmeric and cinnamon, slightly sweetened and raisins or currants added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Yummy and old South African favorite. A friend just brought us some chutney and I wanted to make something special!! This was it, very delicious just like my mother used to make it when I was a kid growing up in South Africa! Perfect meal to go with the freezing weather in Massachusetts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I made this recipe for a Thanksgiving dinner in the States and it was thoroughly enjoyed by all. The recipe leaves out where the onions are meant to go but just add them to the ground beef along with everything else. Very tasty, smells great and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
It's always hard to make a recipe for something you've never eaten or even seen, since you're really not sure what you're aiming at. I never heard of Bobotie until I saw this recipe, and the mix of ingredients intrigued me so I took the plunge. It smells wonderful when baking. The first bite was a little strange, but as I continued to eat it the taste began to grow on me and I can honestly say I liked it. (My husband thought it was only okay). My only fault was with the sauce. Some have described it as "custard" but mine turned out more like scrambled eggs. If I were to make this again, I think I would add a little more chutney. If you're looking for something unusual, this is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I thought this recipe was very interesting and just different enough to try. It was quick & easy to assemble. I love the end product and will most definitely make it again. I probably will double the curry powder next time, since the curry flavor is mild to me, and omit the raisins since hubby doesn't like them, tho I thought they married well with the loaf. Unless you don't like the flavor of curry powder, I would definitely recomment this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
We made this recipe as part of a South African themed meal. We've never had it before, so really have no basis for comparison, but we both liked it. In fact, my husband absolutely loved it. It was slightly sweet, and the spices reminded us a little of Indian food. We will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
this was really yummy!! i made it with the south african yellow rice recipe also on this site, and it was a wonderful dinner! i don't really like meatloaf but i loved this, it has tons of flavor, and really nice taste. i only made half and it turned out great! i also forgot to add the egg to the inside of the bobotie but it held together fine, didn't miss it at all. try this you won't be dissapionted! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
What did I do wrong? I tried the recipe to the letter and it came out heavy and dry with very little topping. More like a dry meat loaf not a light tasty dish. Not at all like the dish we had in South Africa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States