Bobotie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
We have South African friends who introduced us to this dish. We are a family of 7 and we all love it! Mummy loves the budget! ;-) With the yellow rice (also on this site, from Deoni) and some green beans or some salad, YUM, YUM, YUM! Sometimes we are in the mood for extra flavour, so I add a sprinkle of ground chilli and extra chutney, but it always goes down well as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Understandably bobtie is one of those ethnic dishes that is subject to almost infinite possible variations and still be called bobotie. Varied to suit ones taste, leaving out ingredients of concern for food allergies, and modifiable with ingredients that one has on hand. I didn't have chutney so I replaced it with finely chopped granny smith apple and dried apricot. Toasted slivered almonds which I added on top of the mix. I didn't have 2 lbs of ground been - used on lb beef and one lamb ( I would try a ground chicken/beef mix). For me Lamb begs for garlic and lemon - 3 cloves of garlic pasted and mixed with onion during frying - juice and zest of one lemon added to raw meat mix. A good recipe is a journey not a destination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I recently attended a dinner party at a colleague's house. He is from South Africa and made this dish and was excellent. This seemed very close to his version, although I did somewhat combine this recipe with the "Best Bobotie" from this site (used two slices of bread, sauted the onions, with the meat, and mixed all ingredients in the skillet, did not add vinegar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
We made this recipe as part of a South African themed meal. We've never had it before, so really have no basis for comparison, but we both liked it. In fact, my husband absolutely loved it. It was slightly sweet, and the spices reminded us a little of Indian food. We will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
this was really yummy!! i made it with the south african yellow rice recipe also on this site, and it was a wonderful dinner! i don't really like meatloaf but i loved this, it has tons of flavor, and really nice taste. i only made half and it turned out great! i also forgot to add the egg to the inside of the bobotie but it held together fine, didn't miss it at all. try this you won't be dissapionted! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
It's always hard to make a recipe for something you've never eaten or even seen, since you're really not sure what you're aiming at. I never heard of Bobotie until I saw this recipe, and the mix of ingredients intrigued me so I took the plunge. It smells wonderful when baking. The first bite was a little strange, but as I continued to eat it the taste began to grow on me and I can honestly say I liked it. (My husband thought it was only okay). My only fault was with the sauce. Some have described it as "custard" but mine turned out more like scrambled eggs. If I were to make this again, I think I would add a little more chutney. If you're looking for something unusual, this is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Very tasty! I used a lot of the suggestions other reviewers made, such as doubling the curry powder and eggs for the custard top. I left out the salt and sugar and used multigrain bread to make it slightly healthier, and used lamb for a more traditional foundation. I served it with the recommended yellow rice (turmeric, cinnamon and raisins,) which was also very good. It wasn't very filling (I had two slices and 1/4 cup of rice,) so it definitely needs side dishes to round out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I rated this 4 only because I did make a few changes. I did not use chutney or bay leaves, I used cinnamon instead of tumeric. And I fried everything first, put it in a deep dish, added the "custard" on top and baked it top was golden brown (about 35 minutes). The dish was tasty, my 11 year old really enjoyed it as did me and my husband! This is a delicious addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I regularly make bobotie and thought to give this recipe a try. It was "okay", but I have to suggest a few changes: As said by someone else - you CAN brown the mince and onions in a pan !! (I usually do). Then add the seasoning + 1 pinch of ground cloves + 1 pinch of ground coriander seed. Use 2 slices of soaked bread that haven't been drained too well and mix into the mince. Then place in a baking dish. Bake at 200C for about 15min. For the topping: if using 2 eggs it gives a lighter and fluffier dish if you use about 150/200ml of milk (maybe even more if you like the creamy topping). Bake 20 min. To make it even easier: If you're frying the mince before baking - place the seasoned mince in a baking dish and pour over the topping immediately. Bake at 200C for 35-45min. untill golden brown. The topping seeps into the mince mixture giving you a deliciously moist dish. Serve with yellow rice with raisins. (Just steam your rice with some tumeric, raisins and a pinch of cinnamon). A light green salad, slices of banana and caramalised sweet potatoes make it complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I made it with lamb and it was excellent. The kids were a bit unsure of it because it is quite different to the meatloaf they are used it but the adults loved it. I cooked it in a large baking dish and the pan juices (nicely caramelised) were really good. Next time I'll use them to make a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States