Bobotie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
this was really yummy!! i made it with the south african yellow rice recipe also on this site, and it was a wonderful dinner! i don't really like meatloaf but i loved this, it has tons of flavor, and really nice taste. i only made half and it turned out great! i also forgot to add the egg to the inside of the bobotie but it held together fine, didn't miss it at all. try this you won't be dissapionted! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
Easy to make, smells and tastes delicious! Friends and family can't resist when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Glad to see you enjoying our traditional South African dish. Just want to mention that the meat is actually fried in a pan along with the onions until a little brown before mixing with the rest of the ingredients. We usually serve it with yellow rice and raisans. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I made it with lamb and it was excellent. The kids were a bit unsure of it because it is quite different to the meatloaf they are used it but the adults loved it. I cooked it in a large baking dish and the pan juices (nicely caramelised) were really good. Next time I'll use them to make a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I recently attended a dinner party at a colleague's house. He is from South Africa and made this dish and was excellent. This seemed very close to his version, although I did somewhat combine this recipe with the "Best Bobotie" from this site (used two slices of bread, sauted the onions, with the meat, and mixed all ingredients in the skillet, did not add vinegar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Understandably bobtie is one of those ethnic dishes that is subject to almost infinite possible variations and still be called bobotie. Varied to suit ones taste, leaving out ingredients of concern for food allergies, and modifiable with ingredients that one has on hand. I didn't have chutney so I replaced it with finely chopped granny smith apple and dried apricot. Toasted slivered almonds which I added on top of the mix. I didn't have 2 lbs of ground been - used on lb beef and one lamb ( I would try a ground chicken/beef mix). For me Lamb begs for garlic and lemon - 3 cloves of garlic pasted and mixed with onion during frying - juice and zest of one lemon added to raw meat mix. A good recipe is a journey not a destination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
We have South African friends who introduced us to this dish. We are a family of 7 and we all love it! Mummy loves the budget! ;-) With the yellow rice (also on this site, from Deoni) and some green beans or some salad, YUM, YUM, YUM! Sometimes we are in the mood for extra flavour, so I add a sprinkle of ground chilli and extra chutney, but it always goes down well as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Yummy and old South African favorite. A friend just brought us some chutney and I wanted to make something special!! This was it, very delicious just like my mother used to make it when I was a kid growing up in South Africa! Perfect meal to go with the freezing weather in Massachusetts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
We made this recipe as part of a South African themed meal. We've never had it before, so really have no basis for comparison, but we both liked it. In fact, my husband absolutely loved it. It was slightly sweet, and the spices reminded us a little of Indian food. We will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I rated this 4 only because I did make a few changes. I did not use chutney or bay leaves, I used cinnamon instead of tumeric. And I fried everything first, put it in a deep dish, added the "custard" on top and baked it top was golden brown (about 35 minutes). The dish was tasty, my 11 year old really enjoyed it as did me and my husband! This is a delicious addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States