Bobbie's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
These really are good cookies, with endless possibilites for variations. I made mine without chocolate chips and added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 c. nuts, and 1 cup raisins. I like my cookies a little bigger, so I used a 1/4 cup ice cream scoop, flattened them slightly, and baked about 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
This has got to be the BEST cookie recipe I have ever tried. I made some changes for myself. I used chopped dried apricots and dried currants instead of raisins, and I also coarsely chopped the chocolate chips (I didn't have any miniature ones to use which I prefer over the reg size). But it was the basic recipe for the dough that makes these cookies. Mine turned out outstanding and I'm making another batch right away to ship to my daughter away at college. Thank you so much for posting this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
My family really enjoyed these cookies. I split the recipe & added only raisins & peacans to 1/2 & raisins, peacans & milk chocolate chips to the other half. I also added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to they entire recipe. They were both delicious. Don't spray the cookie sheet, it makes them come out flat. My first tray did, but after that I didn't spray the cookie sheet & they came out perfect. This is my favorite Oatmeal Recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I liked another recipe in the oatmeal section better, but I didn't have the butter shortening it called for as well as butter, so I thought I would just use this as the base and only put in the raisins. I did add some spice as another reviewer did. At first I was disappointed because they turned out flat. But! they were delicious. So the next batch I did not grease the sheet, and this time they turned out perfect, nice cookies. So..if your pan doesn't stick bad, I wouldn't grease it. Unless you like the flat style. ;) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I loved this recipe. The cookies are very soft and flavorfull. I think the key is to take the cookies out after no longer than 10 min. even though thet may not look done, they do continue to cook after they are out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This has become my favorite basic oatmeal cookie dough recipe with a few minor changes: I use 1 cup wheat flour and 1 cup regular flour, 1 1/2 cup brown sugar and a little less than half cup of white sugar, use walnuts or almonds instead of pecans, and omit the salt. I like this recipe because it makes a basic oatmeal dough to which you can add whatever you'd like. One time I made oatmeal raisin cookies, the next time I used only chocolate chips and walnuts. I've also frozen half of the dough (without any of the raisins, chips, etc.) and just took it out of the freezer, let it thaw, added what I want to it and baked for about 10-12 minutes. The possibilities are endless with this dough. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Delicious cookies!!! Made them yesterday morning and they are almost completely gone, dh can't stay away from them! They are the perfect oatmeal cookie, chewy, and soft, and yum! I added 1 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. of cloves for a more country home, fall taste to them. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Tasted great, followed the recipe exactly. I don't understand why people around here add their own ingredients and then rate there own recipe as if it were the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This is one of the best Oatmeal Raisin cookies I have ever had! They are really moist and chewy! I changed the ingredients around a little bit. I put 1/2C of white sugar instead of 1C, 3tsp. of vanilla instead of 1tsp., 3/4C extra raisins, I melted the butter in the microwave before mixing, and added 1tsp. of honey to the whole batter. ( I heard it makes cookies more moist), and I excluded the pecans and chocolate chips. I have to say these cookies are spectacular! I read tons of recipes to find out which one I would use to make oatmeal raisin cookies and I liked the sound of all the ingredients so I tried it! Yum Yum!! I also took the last half of the batter and added one full mashed banana in and mixed it up well. I cooked them about 10 min. It was delicious! Tastes just like a banana bread cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Using this recipe ( we didn't add the raisins, chocolate chips or nuts) My 9 year old daughter won 2nd place at the county fair! These make wonderful oatmeal cookies! Thanks~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States