Bo Nuong Xa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This was yummy. I didn't skewer the meat. I just marinated it and cooked it on the grill. I sliced it into strips and served it over Israeli couscous. It was great. Yummy flavor. Use Lemongrass. I didn't add sesame seeds- I used them all up last week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
These were GREAT!! I used half soy sauce and half fish sauce in the marinade. PLEASE don't substitute the lemon grass! It really adds flavor that nothing else can duplicate. We buy lemon grass at the Asian market, chop it up, and freeze it. Then you can have it available for recipes like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very Good! The produce section didn't have fresh lemon grass. I bought some in a jar and used about 2 to 3 tablespoons. It tasted the same. Also, in response to other reviews, discard the sliced lemon grass with the marinade before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was very good. I baked it instead of grilling in a pan and I did not even need to use the sauce i made because it was nice in the juices left over from the marinade. I also had to marinade it for 5 hours because I was ou of the house. Came out very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Used 1 lb meat and 3 stalks of lemon grass, will def use more lemon grass next time. Served with Spicy Bok Choy with Garlic Sauce to which I added more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
We liked this a lot. I wasn't sure how it is supposed to be eaten. But I made the rice vermicelli and noauc cham according to Rachel1070's directions, and we had all the leafy herbs, green onions and lettuce to accompany. Labor intensive. Very healthy. I also made Vietnamese fresh spring rolls as an appetizer. I just wish I knew exactly how you are supposed to put everything together and how to serve this. Are you supposed to wrap it in lettuce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
We followed another reviewer advice and used lemon juice instead of lemon grass. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was pretty good. My first time to venture into "Vietnamese" cooking but it was good. A different twist to steak. My family (even picky eaters)rated it a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilma Laura Wiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I added about 2 inches of grated ginger to the marinade, and we cooked these over an open fire while camping. To serve, we tossed the meat with rice vermicelli, fresh julienne carrots, red peppers, snap peas and green onions, mint, corriander and basil, and topped with crushed peanuts and Nuoc Cham sauce (crush together 1 clove garlic, 2.5 tsp sugar and a pinch of chili pepper powder; add 2 tbsp fish sauce, 1/8 fresh lime juiced, 2.5 tbsp water or to taste). This was absolutely spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States