Blushing Cranberry Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
GREAT-- wanted to try something new and healthy for my family, and everyone loved it and thought it looked like it was out of a magazine! You will impress your guests for sure! I did 2 1/2 cups cranberry, 2 cups orange juice, and then used ground cinnamon (about 1 teaspoon), and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. It all came out great. I was tempted to use a little ginger ale, for some sparkle and zing, but held off for another time. Served with one scoop of vanilla. Be sure if your pear stems aren't long enough to serve with a spoon and a fork or knife so your guests can hold that pear still! One thing: I also did not get the "blush" effect. I will reduce the liquid after (maybe a drop of food coloring?). But, for a cute trick, have a small server of the liquid at the table (room temp) to pour a little on the pear, and that looks like a blush ;) GREAT GREAT and will do again, thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Very good! This was used as a dessert. Very tasty. I cooked down the leftover liquid and drizzled it over each pear just before serving. Presentation looked lovely and taste was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This is a delicious recipe that looks very fancy but is SUPER easy, definately one to make if you're wanting to impress. Its light with just the right amount of sweetness. My only recommendation is to add a bit more cranberry juice for the pear to soak in. The leftover sauce is also fantastic if you refrigerate overnight and then pour over vanilla icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Hayles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gabrielglimpse
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Easy to make and most delicious. I was concerned that the hard pears may not cook up well, but I was pleasantly surprised. I served these pears on a pedastal platter and the presentation was quite delightful. Thanks for the cranberry pear combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabrielglimpse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This showy side salad delites the young and the old alike. I added a bit of powdered cinnomen to the cranberry juice. A vegtable peeler made the peeling process go quickly and a thin slice off the bottom made it so they all could stand proudly and uniquely. Afterwards I added a apple juice to the warm cranberry juice and served the flavorful leftovers chilled...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I serve these as a light refreshing dessert after a heavier meal. Always a hit, and so easy. I have cooked them in a small crockpot for a few hours also. Just make sure it's only a few hours and not overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Delicious, and made the whole house smell wonderful! Next time I might cook the pears longer to help them soak up even more of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Try serving these pears with Mascapone Cheese, It is so decadent. My Husband serves a very similar dessert, the only difference is that he uses red wine in place of the Cranberry Juice, everyone adores them and the wine cooks out so even the kids have a taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I served this for dessert and it was a hit. I left the peel on the pears and let the juice cook down into a syrup. (I used unsweetened cranberry juice and maple syrup instead of cranberry cocktail - then let it cook down until it was thick.) I then cut the cooked pears in half, scooped out the seed part and filled this with the 'cranberry syrup' and dribbled more across the top. Very pretty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Really lovely recipe. I love the flavor the cinnamon stick gives to it. And it smells really good. After it cooled the juice left the pretty "blush" on the pears. I was really impressed. When I make it for dinner guests, I might try to thicken the sauce to serve it as a garnish to the pears and follow the advice of others by cutting the bottom so it can stand up making a pretty display. But today there were no frills and we all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States