Blushing Cranberry Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This showy side salad delites the young and the old alike. I added a bit of powdered cinnomen to the cranberry juice. A vegtable peeler made the peeling process go quickly and a thin slice off the bottom made it so they all could stand proudly and uniquely. Afterwards I added a apple juice to the warm cranberry juice and served the flavorful leftovers chilled...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Very good! This was used as a dessert. Very tasty. I cooked down the leftover liquid and drizzled it over each pear just before serving. Presentation looked lovely and taste was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gabrielglimpse
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Easy to make and most delicious. I was concerned that the hard pears may not cook up well, but I was pleasantly surprised. I served these pears on a pedastal platter and the presentation was quite delightful. Thanks for the cranberry pear combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabrielglimpse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I serve these as a light refreshing dessert after a heavier meal. Always a hit, and so easy. I have cooked them in a small crockpot for a few hours also. Just make sure it's only a few hours and not overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I served this for dessert and it was a hit. I left the peel on the pears and let the juice cook down into a syrup. (I used unsweetened cranberry juice and maple syrup instead of cranberry cocktail - then let it cook down until it was thick.) I then cut the cooked pears in half, scooped out the seed part and filled this with the 'cranberry syrup' and dribbled more across the top. Very pretty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Color wasn't as noticable as I would like for it to have been. Would add a drop of red food coloring to liquid. Tried apples...taste good, but reduce cook time by 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Delicious, and made the whole house smell wonderful! Next time I might cook the pears longer to help them soak up even more of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Made my apartment smell wonderful! Unfortunately, the cranberry didn't quite take to the pears and so the pear tasted, well, like a pear. The color was beautiful and would definitely make a lovely side to an ice cream dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
The pears are amazing! I left them to stew in the juice for about 35 min. instead of the suggested 20 because I used firm pears. The pears came out great! Next time I think I'll try adding some rum or something similar to give them a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This is a delicious recipe that looks very fancy but is SUPER easy, definately one to make if you're wanting to impress. Its light with just the right amount of sweetness. My only recommendation is to add a bit more cranberry juice for the pear to soak in. The leftover sauce is also fantastic if you refrigerate overnight and then pour over vanilla icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Hayles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Clone of a Cranberry Bliss Bar

Bliss out on these sweet holiday treats—they're just like the real deal.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States