Blushing Cranberry Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Really very good. Took the remaining sauce and cooked until it thickened. Would be great over vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This simple recipe is a delicious healthy alternative on my Thanksgiving table every year. Lovely presentation, light and delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I heard about these from a friend who used Cranberry flavored Canada Dry Ginger Ale. So I used that in place of Cranberry Cocktail and they came out amazingly. (Was a cool effect when I added the sugar) I reduced the sauce as some said and really liked that. I had to quarter the pears as I was bringing it to a pot luck so the pears had to sit in the sauce for a bit and they absorbed much more color than they had just after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FionaO
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made this for dessert last night.. It was delicious! I had to make some edits because I didn't have everything the recipe called for. I used bosc pears, raspberry juice, powdered cinnamon, vanilla, sugar and agave nectar.. After cooking them for about a half hour I let them sit in the juice until I served them a couple of hours later.. They became a beautiful pink colour and were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I added 1/4 cup or so of rum to the liquid. After the pears were cooked I simmered the liquid more in order to thicken it as another reviewer had suggested. To serve, I poured the hot liquid over the pear and topped it with blueberry ice cream. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
VERY simple recipe! I would agree with a few other reviews. Add a touch of ground cinnamon as well as a drop of red food coloring (for presentation only). I also used brown sugar instead of white sugar. Overall, love the taste of the pear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
The pears are amazing! I left them to stew in the juice for about 35 min. instead of the suggested 20 because I used firm pears. The pears came out great! Next time I think I'll try adding some rum or something similar to give them a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I served them warm as a dessert. Everyone including the kids liked them (except the husband who doesn't like pears). I had 2 left over that we ate cold, that were also very good. I can't decide if I like them better warm or cold. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
GREAT-- wanted to try something new and healthy for my family, and everyone loved it and thought it looked like it was out of a magazine! You will impress your guests for sure! I did 2 1/2 cups cranberry, 2 cups orange juice, and then used ground cinnamon (about 1 teaspoon), and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. It all came out great. I was tempted to use a little ginger ale, for some sparkle and zing, but held off for another time. Served with one scoop of vanilla. Be sure if your pear stems aren't long enough to serve with a spoon and a fork or knife so your guests can hold that pear still! One thing: I also did not get the "blush" effect. I will reduce the liquid after (maybe a drop of food coloring?). But, for a cute trick, have a small server of the liquid at the table (room temp) to pour a little on the pear, and that looks like a blush ;) GREAT GREAT and will do again, thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Clone of a Cranberry Bliss Bar

Bliss out on these sweet holiday treats—they're just like the real deal.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States