Blushing Cranberry Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Really lovely recipe. I love the flavor the cinnamon stick gives to it. And it smells really good. After it cooled the juice left the pretty "blush" on the pears. I was really impressed. When I make it for dinner guests, I might try to thicken the sauce to serve it as a garnish to the pears and follow the advice of others by cutting the bottom so it can stand up making a pretty display. But today there were no frills and we all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I made this and followed the recipe exactly. While the aroma was wonderful, the pears did not take on the flavor as I had hoped. The just tasted like soft, broiled, pears. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Great recipe and your house smells lovely. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I served this for dessert and it was a hit. I left the peel on the pears and let the juice cook down into a syrup. (I used unsweetened cranberry juice and maple syrup instead of cranberry cocktail - then let it cook down until it was thick.) I then cut the cooked pears in half, scooped out the seed part and filled this with the 'cranberry syrup' and dribbled more across the top. Very pretty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Try serving these pears with Mascapone Cheese, It is so decadent. My Husband serves a very similar dessert, the only difference is that he uses red wine in place of the Cranberry Juice, everyone adores them and the wine cooks out so even the kids have a taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Very good. I loved the smell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This didn't work at all for me. We didn't like it. thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
So delicious, lovely and simple... The pears just sliced like warm butter when they were done! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This is a delicious recipe that looks very fancy but is SUPER easy, definately one to make if you're wanting to impress. Its light with just the right amount of sweetness. My only recommendation is to add a bit more cranberry juice for the pear to soak in. The leftover sauce is also fantastic if you refrigerate overnight and then pour over vanilla icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Hayles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Clone of a Cranberry Bliss Bar

Bliss out on these sweet holiday treats—they're just like the real deal.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States