Blueberry or Cherry Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
Absolutely the perfect summer dessert!! I made this for my family summer reunion and it was devoured!! Everyone who tasted it raved about how good it was. I made it the night before and it was so easy. I did make a few changes. I made 2 recipes of this--one cherry and one blueberry. I added 1 cup of chopped pecans and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the crust of the blueberry version. I added 1 cup of chopped toasted almonds to the crust of the cherry version and 1 teaspoon of almond flavoring to the cherry pie filling. I thought it looked sort of plain so I sprinkled the whipped topping with extra graham cracker crumbs and toasted chopped nuts(almonds for the cherry version and pecans for the blueberry version). The taste was surprisingly light and deliciously fruity. I will definitely make this again--in fact I plan to make it for my mom's 4th of July party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
My Grandma made this for me when I was a little girl--I especially loved a helping for breakfast, and I always found reason to have 2 squares of my beloved Cherry Dessert. This recipe is identical, except she used 1/2 cup of sugar in the crust. Also, she baked it at 350. In case of confusion, the number of graham crackers is in squares, not rectangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cartwheels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
Made it for 4th of July using, blueberry and cherry pie filling.Cake took longer to bake, didn't brown, but had to test center for firmness. Baked for almost an additional 10 minutes! Also cracker crust was way too thick. Recipe needed more filling and less crust. Would probably make again, but use a different crust recipe. Crust was too time consuming. Also recipe confusing when listing crust ingredients with filling ingredients. Almost put entire 2 cups of sugar into crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I took this to work for a birthday and everyone loved it. It was very easy to cut and serve. I used 2 cups graham cracker crumbs, 1 stick melted butter, and only 1/2 cup of sugar for the crust and it was perfect-sweet but not too sweet. I also had to bake it 10 minutes longer. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
This recipe has been updated to note that either blueberry or cherry pie filling may be used. Or spread 1 (21 ounce) can of each filling on one half of the pie! - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Easy and yummy! Really not too sweet, if you're ok with canned pie filling. Of course, I did not add the whipped topping (forgot to pick it up at the store)--but it really tasted great without it. I cut the recipe in half and did it in an 8x8 pan; the only thing I changed was instead of two eggs, I used one whole egg and one egg yolk. For the crust, I pressed the crumbs over the bottom and up the sides, because I love graham cracker crust (so I get the corner pieces) but my man does not. Got my cheesecake craving out of the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Great recipe! Used far less graham cracker crumbs and baked for an additional ten minutes. I will definitely make again to take to family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
There is an error in the writing of this recipe. It should say one can of blueberry pie filling and one can of cherry pie filling, instead of two cans of blueberry pie filling. Otherwise delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made this twice now with my homemade blueberry topping (blueberries and sugar cooked down) and it is on my short list for favorite desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
You really should amend the amount of time this recipe takes to bake. It took me another 10-12 minutes to get it so it wasn't liquid in the middle. I haven't tasted it yet, but you really can't go wrong with cheesecake. I did add ground up pecans to the graham cracker crust and I will be using one can of cherry and one can of blueberry pie fillings - 1/2 and 1/2 for color and also for those who don't like blueberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States