Blueberry or Cherry Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
My Grandma made this for me when I was a little girl--I especially loved a helping for breakfast, and I always found reason to have 2 squares of my beloved Cherry Dessert. This recipe is identical, except she used 1/2 cup of sugar in the crust. Also, she baked it at 350. In case of confusion, the number of graham crackers is in squares, not rectangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cartwheels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was really good, but too rich in cherries. I think 1 can would have been enough. I did cook it 10 extra minutes, as one person suggested, and I loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I took this to work for a birthday and everyone loved it. It was very easy to cut and serve. I used 2 cups graham cracker crumbs, 1 stick melted butter, and only 1/2 cup of sugar for the crust and it was perfect-sweet but not too sweet. I also had to bake it 10 minutes longer. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This is a great recipe that I use all the time and you don't need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Great recipe! Used far less graham cracker crumbs and baked for an additional ten minutes. I will definitely make again to take to family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This was really good and soooo easy. A little bit on the sweet side, but good, will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I made this for our church youth group. It was excellent. I like the thick crust, I used 2 cups of the boxed graham cracker crumbs. I also did not put whipped topping on the cherries, I like the appeal of the bright red cherries on top, though I did have it on the side if anyone wanted it. Would definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
LOVED IT. SO SIMPLE TO MAKE. THE WHOLE PAN WAS GONE IN ONE DAY. ONLY RECOMMENDATION IS TO BE MORE SPECIFIC ON THE QUANTITY OF CRACKERS. 36 OF THE CRACKERS I USED WAS TOO MUCH SO I MADE A PUDDING PIE WITH THE BALANCE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
Absolutely the perfect summer dessert!! I made this for my family summer reunion and it was devoured!! Everyone who tasted it raved about how good it was. I made it the night before and it was so easy. I did make a few changes. I made 2 recipes of this--one cherry and one blueberry. I added 1 cup of chopped pecans and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the crust of the blueberry version. I added 1 cup of chopped toasted almonds to the crust of the cherry version and 1 teaspoon of almond flavoring to the cherry pie filling. I thought it looked sort of plain so I sprinkled the whipped topping with extra graham cracker crumbs and toasted chopped nuts(almonds for the cherry version and pecans for the blueberry version). The taste was surprisingly light and deliciously fruity. I will definitely make this again--in fact I plan to make it for my mom's 4th of July party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
This dessert was very easy to make, but as others said the crust was way to thick and I halfed it so next time I make it I will quarter the amount of graham crackers. I also used three packages of cream cheese and increased the ingredients accordingly. Everyone loved it and I was told to make it again. Did it with both cherry and blueberry fruit topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States