Blueberry and Chia Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Made this overnight and must say this has quickly turned into a primary go to breakfast item. Not sure how these ingredients would create a house filling aroma though. Very simple ingredients, easy to prepare, and very healthy, plus I can make a batch on Sunday, and have enough for quick healthy breakfasts throughout the week. I did make a couple of changes. I used unsweetened almond vanilla milk instead of soy. I used 3 1/2 cups of water & added 1/4 cup of Sugar Free Zero Calorie Walden Farms Blueberry Syrup. Also added 1/2 TSP of salt . Can't wait to experiment with other seasonal fruits. For those who are not used to it, quinoa definitely has a unique taste, it can take some getting used to. Also, quinoa is just like rice - you need to RINSE it beforehand. Otherwise, you get an earthy, somewhat bitter taste when cooked. So just put it in a strainer, & rinse it under some cold water before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I would give the taste about 3 stars or a little less, but I deducted for the disappointment equal to the difference between the final product as described and what I actually woke up to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made modifications though - almond milk instead of soy, used more water & less milk, left out the honey, used mixed berries, added cinnamon & pecans/walnuts. It's my go-to breakfast during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Everyone complains of lack of flavor. The one essential missing ingredient....salt! And salt is NOT something I like. Nothing tastes good without an appropriate amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I read the reviews before I made this recipe. I used the base of the quinoa and chia seeds. I did apples and cherries instead of the blueberries and added tons of spices (cinnamon, ginger, clove). It turned out great! I also added a wee bit of maple syrup to my bowl. I loved the texture especially!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
very distinct flavor. some people would love it. others would hate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
It was extremely bland and texturally strange. The taste of the quinoa overpowers everything else and it's not appetizing at all. I also made it for children who are 10 and 8 and they could not even stomach it. I had to bribe them with turkey bacon to get them to eat just a quarter of their serving. This was even after I doused their portion with honey to make it sweet enough for them to eat. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone, and I'm highly disappointed that I wasted two cups of delicious (and seasonally pricey) blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
It's a little bland by itself, just like oatmeal I guess! But with brown sugar, it was just fine. Different and full of texture. I like it but my friend found it too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This recipe has potential, but like the other comments, it lacks sweetness. I'll try again with different (sweeter) fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I am cooking this as we speak . when you team two wonderful foods together with fruit and honey :))when you play with a recipe and make it your own!! simple and a new staple for my family :)) Thanks Erica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States