Blueberry and Banana Cream Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This truly is an excellent pie. Everyone loved it (including me). However, I did make a few changes. First, I added about 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract to the beaten cream cheese and sugar, then I whipped up 2 cups (500 ml) of whipping cream (35%)- instead of the frozen whipped topping - until stiff peaks formed and folded this into the cream cheese mixture. Finally, I wanted to take advantage of blueberry season and instead of pie filling, I used fresh blueberries (about 1 1/2 pints should do). I arranged them in a circular pattern over the cream cheese mixture and then brushed a red currant jelly glaze over the blueberries. Voila! C'est magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
OH MY GOODNESS, DID I DIE AND GO TO HEAVEN? *L* I HAVE NOT HAD A PIE THIS GOOD SINCE MY MOTHER PASSED ON. TWO THUMBS UP AND 5*. I PLAN TO MAKE THIS FOR THE NEXT FAMILY EVENT. GOT A LATE START MAKING IT, SO INSTEAD OF CHILLING FOR 4 HRS. I STUCK IT IN THE FREEZER FOR AN HOUR. MY B/F, 18M/O AND BROTHER LOVED IT! MAY TRY BANANAS AND PUT A STRAWBERRY PIE FILLING ON TOP NEXT. THANKS SOOO MUCH FOR A WONDERFUL RECIPE.A+++++++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNETTE1990

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOHN STERBENZ
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
ORIGINAL REVIEW (September 2003): I made this using a graham cracker crust without the pecans and served it on Independence Day. Very easy and fast to prepare!! It was a hit with everyone, too. I will make this again and will always consider it whenever I need to throw a dessert together quickly. Thanks! 2015 UPDATE: I continue to make this dessert as requested (especially during the summer) by my family, still using two (9-inch) prepared graham cracker crusts (baked for 10 minutes at 350 F), without the pecans, but otherwise leaving the recipe unchanged. It is, 12 years later, still a hit. I always say I'm going to reduce the amount of whipped topping in the cream cheese mixture, but I never do. These freeze exceptionally well and I almost always freeze one for a later day. Thank you, G.Roberts, for a recipe that has such staying power!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I made this to take to a cook-out and it was a huge hit! I made it with "Perfect fect Pie Crust 1" from this site. I used walnuts instead of pecans and made my own blueberry filling with fresh-picked blueberries. I also whipped up cream for the filling instead of using whipped topping. I layered the pie so that the cream was on top and not the blueberries, then decorated the top of the pie with banana chips, fresh bluberries and walnuts. Thank you! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
I liked this "pie" but I think it would taste better with a graham cracker crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
This pie is AWESOME! And very quick and easy to make. I used graham cracker crusts and left out the pecans and it was still great! I took to a family pool party and everyone loved it. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Futuregirlzone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Omitted bananas, and this was exactly like a pie my aunt used to make for holiday gatherings. Thanks so much for sharing this delicious recipe! My kids devoured it, and I loved it just as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davis, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
This was such a hit at our family gatherings over Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
My aunt use to make this pie for me when I was younger and you talk about wonderful!!! You can't go wrong with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nowata, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe is amazing but I used 500ml whipping cream in place of the frozen whipped topping as recommended by another reviewer. The result was a simple to make but superb tasting pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States