Blueberry Walnut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I loved it. My boyfriend loved it. Oh man. I'm going out today and buying more blueberries to make it again! Only thing I changed is I bought fresh blueberries (they were on sale and cheaper than frozen) It's a little heavy, but a nice dessert type bread. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is a nice tasting bread & easy to make. I ended up cutting it in half & placing into an oven ready pan & baking at 375F oven for about 10 minutes to finish cooking it as the top & down the centre didn't cook. The texture is nice. I added shelled sunflower seeds instead of walnuts. I'll make it again but maybe just mix longer & bake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly
Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wyoming, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I made this recipe for the first time tonight. I followed the directions exactly, and set the bread machine on quick bread. It smelled FABULOUS while it was cooking. When the timer went off, I went to get some of the bread that smelled so great, only to find out that when I opened the machine, I could see the bread jiggle. It was not cooked. The outside had started to form a crust, but the inside was still very much NOT done. When I inserted a toothpick, just for kicks, I got a huge glob of dough. I ended up having to turn the oven on and stick the metal "basket" in the oven to finish cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuietPoet2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
OMG, this totally ROCKED! It could have used slightly less sugar, perhaps, and maybe two packets of True Lemon instead of just one. But man! The only real deviations I made were: * 1 c. whole wheat flour + 1.5 c. bread flour for the 2.5 c. all-purpose flour * 4 T. butter instead of 1/3 c. margarine * 1 packet of True Lemon instead of .5 t. grated lemon zest My only real complaint about the recipe overall is the recommendation to mix it in a bowl prior to loading it into the bread pan, so the only advantage to using the bread machine is that it just doesn't heat up your kitchen like firing up the conventional oven would. In the fall/winter/spring I'd likely just throw this in the oven - I'd dirty the same number of containers, and a conventional loaf pan could go in the dishwasher, whereas the bread machine pan has to be hand washed. Still, a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
i made this for my family today and it was a hit! I didnt want to bring out the bread machine though because I was in such a rush, so I just baked it in the oven for 50 minutes on 175. It turned out great, even though the blueberries bled a lot into the batter, you could hardly tell in the final product. It was moist, sweet (but not too sweet) and nutty all at the same time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This bread is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
very good. i used raspberries instead and put it in the oven. turned out great! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Excellent recipe, tastes just like a blueberry muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Irish
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This recipe came out well for me. As suggested I used 1 TB of poppyseeds. I omitted the walnuts and added extra blueberries (I used fresh). To keep my bread from turning into a blue mess I didn't stir my berries in the dough. Instead I folded them into the bread machine between layers of dough. During the cycle the bread appears to be bluish. But when I waited until after it had cooled to take it out, the bread was brown and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olwein, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Delicious, and not too sweet! I used dried blueberries and substituted the walnuts with 1 T. of poppy seeds (could use more). I think I also used a little more lemon zest, but only because I love lemon. With the dried blueberries, I didn't have to do anything by hand...I just threw it all in the bread machine and used the cake cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States