Blueberry Waffles with Fast Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I used buttermilk and I opted out of using blueberries in the actual waffle recipe only because I didn't want to clean up the mess of my waffle maker. I used Trop 50 orange juice in the sauce. Both the waffles and the sauce were outstanding.....my boys ate themselves silly and said this is my best waffle recipe EVER. The waffles turned out crispy on the outside and tender on the inside--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I was looking for a quick blueberry syrup recipe since I was out of syrup for Saturday waffles. This recipe was very good and super fast and easy! My 6 year old son really loved it and ate more than usual. I used frozen blueberries. Only four stars because, for me, the OJ flavor was a little overpowering ... next time I'll probably dilute the OJ with water. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NVGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I added a Tbsp. of white sugar to the waffle batter, substituted 1Tbsp of butter with Coconut oil and chopped the frozen blueberries... the waffles were perfect! The syrup was so amazing and simple! I think I may try to substitute ALL the butter for coconut oil, and use honey instead of white sugar next time, to make an even healthier meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I haven't tried the sauce but I tried the waffles. I must admit I was skeptical at first. I have been making waffles for years but never with blueberries. I did a few things differently. Iused 4 eggs. I seperated my yolk from the milk and blended the yolk until lemon coloured then added the ingredients. 1TB of Vanilla. I blended the egg whites until stiff peaks. I also added 2/3 C of buttermilk and 1 1/4C of regular milk. The texture seemed wierd when everything is mixed but as you let it sit it does work out in the end. I was impressed with the waffles and I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Delicious. Not sure what all the comments about bland waffles is about. I am rating the waffles only; I used the blueberry breakfast sauce recipe for the syrup. I used white-whole wheat flour and a bit more milk (another 1/3 C?). Also used 1 C blueberries. The batter made six waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Didn't try the waffles, but the sauce was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agziller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This waffle recipe really has a lot of potential. After reading a lot of the reviews I added 1T of sugar to the batter. I did not want bland tasting waffles. I used buttermilk and I beat the heck out of the egg whites until it was foamy, frothy and stiff, about 2 minutes. I added the egg whites to the batter and then the fresh blueberries last. I folded the blueberries gently into the batter. I scooped portions of the batter onto my waffle grill and cooked until it was golden brown. I ended up with 12 waffles. The waffle is pretty with the blueberries cooked right in. Some were oozing with its purple berry juices right out of the waffles- nice. The waffles itself tastes good with the addition of the sugar. However, I strongly feel that the star of this recipe is the blueberry sauce! It is perfectly sweet, with the right touch of honey and fresh blueberries. I love the addition of the fresh orange juice. The sauce is easy to prepare with a thick consistency. It is a smooth, beautiful purple blueish color. Next time I may need to double the amount of sauce because it was just enough for 4 waffles. The waffles with blueberry sauce makes for a really nice presentation. Based on the original recipe I give it a 3 stars rating while my family's feedback is a 5 stars. With the addition of the 1T sugar plus the delicious blueberry sauce everyone raved about, I feel it is more of a 4 star rating. I would make this again with my adjustments and even use the sauce for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
These were just okay. Judging from the batter, I thought these were going to be light and fluffy with a slight crunch on the outside. But they had no color, no crispness. They were, for lack of a better description, limp, with very little flavor. I think they would be better with some sugar. The sauce, is amazing. I would make the sauce again, with the great citrus flavor, to go on other waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Note: Rating is for sauce only! This is a wonderfully easy sauce. I usually add way more blueberries and use whatever citrusy juice on hand - typically country time lemonade. After reading the waffle reviews, I stick to Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Used good ol' Bisquick for my waffles, but wanted to try the blueberry sauce-It was good, but not very blueberry-y. We mostly tasted orange juice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States