Blueberry Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I really liked this recipe, as I served it on Easter Sunday. The only caveat was that the blueberries leaked through the springform pan (likely because I had to use frozen), and the bottom of my oven was a bubbling, ashy mess when it was all said and done. My suggestion, just in case, is to put a layer of aluminum foil under the springform pan to collect any juices that might leak out. Otherwise, this was a wonderful recipe, and the whipped cream was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This turned out kind of dry and crumbly for me, but it could have been my fault for using half whole wheat pastry flour (although it has never negatively affected a recipe before). I also used lemon juice instead of lemon zest, so maybe that changed things. Mine baked in 50 minutes also. The top was good, but I wish I had used frozen instead of my freshly-picked berries, because it kind of just tasted like I had spread blueberry preserves all over it. I think the "Plum Blueberry Upside Down Cake" on this site has a much better texture and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
An awesome recipe! Very moist and tasty! Little work and very little cleanup make this cake a winner in my book. Pay close attention to the "Bake 60-70 minutes or when toothpick comes out clean. My cake cooked in 50".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I made this dessert for company as I had blueberries and needed something quick. It was delicious. I made it again with frozen berries and fresh was definately better but frozen were fine.I served ours with fresh whipped cream. You have to be a real blueberry lover for this one, as I am. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Fontaine Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
I found this recipe to be easy to prepare; however, I was not that satisfied with the result. It didn't look as nice as I would have liked. It did not need to bake 60-70 minutes - 55 minutes maximum. Also I would definitely switch the almond extract to either lemon or vanilla in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I've tried many recipes on this website, and this recipe is my first bad encounter. The cake was positively the worst desert I have ever made. One piece and the remainder quickly hit the bottom of the trash can. If you want a winning blueberry cake, try the Blueberry Cream Cheese Poundcake instead. It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
very easy. great and quick to make. i made one change, didn't add almond-flavor, but a bit rum-essence and some brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Great recipe. I used mix berries which looked fabulous. I'd definitely recommend using frozen berries. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Over all this was a nice tasting cake the blueberry and lemon really shine through. I did omit the almond extract and added lemon juice in its place. I also used half and half instead of milk. I did not have a problem with it being dry but it is dense and the crumb is very coarse. I'm thinking some additional butter or perhaps some oil would lighten it up a bit. I did use frozen berries which were nice but next time I think I will use less flour and sugar as the topping was very very thick as others mentioned. I love the idea of this cake and I am going to try it again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This recipe was very flavourful, and I loved the addition of the lemon. I used a bunt pan instead of a springform. I also make a cream cheese mixture consisting of 1 250gram pkg light cream cheese, 1 egg, 2 tsp vanilla, and a little cinnamon. I poured this over the blueberrys, and then topped that with the batter. Unfortunaly, I overcookes mine a little, and it was a bit dry. That's no fault of the recipe though. Thanx for this one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States