Blueberry Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I've tried many recipes on this website, and this recipe is my first bad encounter. The cake was positively the worst desert I have ever made. One piece and the remainder quickly hit the bottom of the trash can. If you want a winning blueberry cake, try the Blueberry Cream Cheese Poundcake instead. It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
Husband loved it! I did not change a thing except for the addition of the nuts. And I did not use a springform pan b/c I did not have one and I used frozen blueberries. Still turned out delicious, and makes a great presentation too.. I's make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I made this dessert for company as I had blueberries and needed something quick. It was delicious. I made it again with frozen berries and fresh was definately better but frozen were fine.I served ours with fresh whipped cream. You have to be a real blueberry lover for this one, as I am. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Fontaine Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I really liked this recipe, as I served it on Easter Sunday. The only caveat was that the blueberries leaked through the springform pan (likely because I had to use frozen), and the bottom of my oven was a bubbling, ashy mess when it was all said and done. My suggestion, just in case, is to put a layer of aluminum foil under the springform pan to collect any juices that might leak out. Otherwise, this was a wonderful recipe, and the whipped cream was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
I found this recipe to be easy to prepare; however, I was not that satisfied with the result. It didn't look as nice as I would have liked. It did not need to bake 60-70 minutes - 55 minutes maximum. Also I would definitely switch the almond extract to either lemon or vanilla in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
This cake was absolutely delicious! It turned out moist and froze well for when I had cravings for cake for breakfast. I highly recommend this if you are a blueberry and lemon lover. I am not a fan however, of almond extract but vanilla subsituted nicely. Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
this was wonderful, my mother-inlaw gave me a thumbs up for this and that is a rare thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
looked and tasted terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
very easy. great and quick to make. i made one change, didn't add almond-flavor, but a bit rum-essence and some brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States