Blueberry Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I've tried many recipes on this website, and this recipe is my first bad encounter. The cake was positively the worst desert I have ever made. One piece and the remainder quickly hit the bottom of the trash can. If you want a winning blueberry cake, try the Blueberry Cream Cheese Poundcake instead. It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
Husband loved it! I did not change a thing except for the addition of the nuts. And I did not use a springform pan b/c I did not have one and I used frozen blueberries. Still turned out delicious, and makes a great presentation too.. I's make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I made this dessert for company as I had blueberries and needed something quick. It was delicious. I made it again with frozen berries and fresh was definately better but frozen were fine.I served ours with fresh whipped cream. You have to be a real blueberry lover for this one, as I am. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Fontaine Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I really liked this recipe, as I served it on Easter Sunday. The only caveat was that the blueberries leaked through the springform pan (likely because I had to use frozen), and the bottom of my oven was a bubbling, ashy mess when it was all said and done. My suggestion, just in case, is to put a layer of aluminum foil under the springform pan to collect any juices that might leak out. Otherwise, this was a wonderful recipe, and the whipped cream was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
I found this recipe to be easy to prepare; however, I was not that satisfied with the result. It didn't look as nice as I would have liked. It did not need to bake 60-70 minutes - 55 minutes maximum. Also I would definitely switch the almond extract to either lemon or vanilla in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
This cake was absolutely delicious! It turned out moist and froze well for when I had cravings for cake for breakfast. I highly recommend this if you are a blueberry and lemon lover. I am not a fan however, of almond extract but vanilla subsituted nicely. Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
this was wonderful, my mother-inlaw gave me a thumbs up for this and that is a rare thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
looked and tasted terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
very easy. great and quick to make. i made one change, didn't add almond-flavor, but a bit rum-essence and some brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States