Blueberry Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
The overall flavor of this cake is nice, but the cake itself is dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Very easy to make and a great way to use up blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made this cake today for my dad and grandfather (father's day!!) and they both really enjoyed it! I made a few changes - vanilla extract and no almonds and I used a bundt cake pan. I also mushed the blueberrys a little to get them just a little runny and sugary... Mmmm perfect with a cold glass of milk! The other reviews are right when they mention that this cake is done in 45-50 minutes. I only wish that the cake wasn't so dense and low looking... maybe next time I will try more baking soda? Any other suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I thought this was fantastic! I made it exactly according to the recipe with FRESH blueberries and FRESHLY grated lemon zest. It turned out perfect. I'll admit I used rum extract instead of almond because I was out of it, but I think you could use vanilla, too and it would be fine. The cake was light and tasty...yummo! Mine was done in 50 minutes at 350, though so keep an eye on it so it doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Made for Mother's Day. Everyone liked it but I found the topping was too thick, I think halve the flour next time, I used frozen blueberries and they had a good flavour. Just thought the topping would come down the sides a bit to fancy it up! Used spatula to try to do but was too thick. will try again though as it was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I CHANGED THIS RECIPE QUITE A BIT.REPLACED HALF THE SUGAR IN CAKE WITH 4 PACKETS OF EQUAL, DID THE SAME OVER THE BERRIES.ALSO USED ONLY 2 EGGS, DIDN'T SEE THE NEED FOR 3 EGGS! ALSO COOKED IN 8 IN. SQUARE AND MADE 7 CUPCAKES AS THERE WAS TOO MUCH BATTER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois Chaput

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This recipe was very flavourful, and I loved the addition of the lemon. I used a bunt pan instead of a springform. I also make a cream cheese mixture consisting of 1 250gram pkg light cream cheese, 1 egg, 2 tsp vanilla, and a little cinnamon. I poured this over the blueberrys, and then topped that with the batter. Unfortunaly, I overcookes mine a little, and it was a bit dry. That's no fault of the recipe though. Thanx for this one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Great recipe. I used mix berries which looked fabulous. I'd definitely recommend using frozen berries. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This turned out kind of dry and crumbly for me, but it could have been my fault for using half whole wheat pastry flour (although it has never negatively affected a recipe before). I also used lemon juice instead of lemon zest, so maybe that changed things. Mine baked in 50 minutes also. The top was good, but I wish I had used frozen instead of my freshly-picked berries, because it kind of just tasted like I had spread blueberry preserves all over it. I think the "Plum Blueberry Upside Down Cake" on this site has a much better texture and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
An awesome recipe! Very moist and tasty! Little work and very little cleanup make this cake a winner in my book. Pay close attention to the "Bake 60-70 minutes or when toothpick comes out clean. My cake cooked in 50".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States